Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Off

I woke up feeling kind of off today. The kind of off where you wake up and think, "Oh shit. I finally caught what Professor K had last week."

I may be overreacting, it's something I like to do when I feel an illness coming on. We'll see. For now I'm just off.

Last night, before offdome hit, I had a blast with my Professor K. He brought home two bottles of Korbel and Jesus brought us two more discs of Six Feet Under from Netflix. Woo!

Needless to say both discs went back in the mail today, as we watched all the remaining episodes of Season 2 back to back. Season 3 here we go!

It was SUCH a fun night and we kept announcing things about, "this, the day of our anniversary", which is how we refer to every single 27th of every single month. We are tards, but we have a lot of fun.

Bailey had fun too, I hope. She has been having a hard time this week because it is week one of her Diet.

I capitalized the word because Bailey + Diet = BAD. Her last visit to the vet (the one that made me cry with it's Bill Of Evil) she was informed by a man in a white coat that she was a fatty. And I was crushed with dismay as I have never, NEVER had to put her on a diet before. She has always been my slightly plump little watermelon on stilts. But now, not so much. Now? She's a fatty. EIGHT POUNDS worth of overweight Bailey. For a dog that should weigh 35 pounds, that's a lot of extra cute to carry around.

It's because we are so bad and we indulge her every whim, from pizza crust to fried shrimp to puppy chow (she's four, I know) to any other goddamn thing she whines for. And my justification has always been kind of a spineless 'well, she was a poor suffering pound dog early in life, she deserves it'. But the doctor explained things like life span and fatness and how they are related and...uh...no. I cannot live without my Bailey so the feeding of the dog has ceased.

Bailey is not pleased. We now live in fear of Evil Dieting Bailey.

Last night was the first night that wasn't absolutely awful so I'm thinking she's adjusting. She's eating her low calorie dog food (god, break my heart) with gusto and not slathering and writhing and growling on the floor when we eat. Um, as much.

______________________________________

In regard to other things, I've had a very pleasant realization. It dawned slowly yesterday and kind of peaked this morning, and that is that I am actually over the ex drama. Finally.

The first email I got from her kind of threw me off, but it's been anticlimactic at best ever since. I didn't agonize over my decision of whether or not to respond, I just sent her an email. I didn't draft and redraft the email, I just typed it right up and sent it off. I didn't frantically check my email to see if she had responded. And this morning, when I read her response, it was like, "Oh. Cool."

We're going to talk, probably this weekend, and I feel really good about it. I'm curious about what happened over the past year, really two years, of her life. There isn't any of that resentment and anger and frustration of the last time.

I guess I really did just need some time.

It's so funny how time fixes things.

Duh.

Anyway, it's a relief to know that I'm normal again. There is no longer a name that can send me reeling. It is back to what it should always have been, thank God.

Charlotte, on Sex & the City (I know, slap me now, why do I quote this show?), said in one episode that it takes half the length of a relationship to get over someone. And if that's true (and of COURSE it is, HELLO! It's Sex & the City!) then it's been that long and a bit more for me and the ex.

I can't explain how freeing this is for me. It just IS.

So I have two blast-from-the-past plans for the weekend. One is the phone chat with the ex. The other is a plan to get coffee with a girl I went to high school with who lives in Cambridge. (Spitting distance from me, if you're not from The Neighborhood). [Is it common knowledge that I went to high school in Maryland? Because that's the thing that makes it interesting, that we both live in the same area now. Otherwise it would be very 'so what'? If it's not already.]

I feel all grown up having scheduled a coffee date with a fellow alum. We weren't exactly friends in high school but we had a few pleasant run-ins and a few good talks, so I'm looking forward to it. Also she recently got married and I'm all about the pictures.

It should be an interesting weekend.

However the BEST part of the coffee date thing was when I told Professor K about it yesterday after work and when he asked me her name and I said, "Shelby", he responded, "SHERBY? Who the hell is SHERBY? You just made that up, didn't you?"

God, he cracks me the fuck up.

9:57 a.m. - 2006-04-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones