Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fucked Up

I heard back from my ex. She sounds brainwashed. For real.

Can I say REHAB?

She has made no specific mention of having gone through rehab but her email has a lot of language that sounds like recovery-speak. It's about making amends for past actions, finally being able to feel emotion, learning to love herself, and even (EVEN!) alludes to a troubled childhood.

The only line of the email that irritated me was this one: "And I'd like to get know you all over again and offer you the chance to truly get me know me, I guess for the first time..." Is it irriating to everyone who reads it or just me?

We have a not so specific plan to talk this weekend. I guess I'm going to hear a story at that point. My guess is a downward spiral of destructive behavior, a stint in a rehab facility, and now a newfound serenity.

I know I sound like a total shit here. It's great that she's taken control of her life, if that's what she needed. I just wish her initial email to me had alluded to all this a bit more, given me more of a fair playing field for deciding whether or not to contact her. Because if she has been to rehab then all my old hurts and injustices are now irrelevent, they can be explained away as falling during her troubled times. Her post-rehab enlightenment.

I should be happy that at least now she can acknowledge that those hurts did happen. But after all this time it just doesn't feel like enough.

3:50 p.m. - 2005-05-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones