Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Senior Year

1. Who was your best friend?
At the beginning of the school year it was Liz, but then in the fall we had a sorta kinda falling out and I spent a lot more time with Kristen and Rachel, and by the end of the year I was with Melanie and Ugbo a lot. Guess who I�m still friends with now? Liz! I love that girl.

2. What sports did you play?
None. I hated playing sports and avoided them at all costs. I did take dance, though, but only because it was mandatory. Wanna see me foxtrot? How about an Irish jig?

3. What kind of car did you drive?
A 2002 Eddie Bauer Ford Explorer � which I called Eddie, of course.

4. On a Friday night what where you doing?
Hanging out with friends; driving around looking for a party or getting drunk at a party; hanging out at Robert E. Lee park with Natty Bo (National Bohemian) or Maryland�s Best ($6 a case!); shoulder tapping near Johns Hopkins. My social life revolved around obtaining and consuming alcohol.

5. Were you a party animal?
Yes.

6. Were you considered a flirt?
I don�t know � maybe? Um, to the boys that we hung out with, not the girls.

7. Were you in band, orchestra, or choir?
No. I played flute and piano in high school but had quit by senior year � smoking makes playing the flute HARD.

8. Were you a nerd?
No. I got good grades but everyone knew I was too cool to actually try. (hee! I�m 17 again!)

9. Did you ever get suspended or expelled?
No, just a couple of detentions, usually for being out of uniform.

10. Can you still sing the fight song?
We didn�t have a fight song � we were an all-girls school so �our song� was this awful hymn-ey thing called Jerusalem. (You�ve possibly heard it at a graduation or baccalaureate). Also we didn�t play �fighting� sports � we led the state in badminton � so yeah, there was that too.

11. Who were your favorite teachers?
I suck at remembering teachers names � I loved the History and English profs, and Dr. Thornbery (that�s not misspelled, there is only one �r� in berry and he�d deduct points from your papers if you misspelled it on the title page) is probably the main reason I majored in history in college.

12. Where did you sit during lunch?
I almost never ate lunch at school senior year. We got off-campus privileges junior year and by senior year I felt like a fool if I ate on campus. My friends and I would drive to the mall, smoke, shop � and sometimes eat too. If I did eat on campus it was in the senior room, of course.

14. School mascot?
Oh god. The Bryn Mawrtian. EVERYTHING at my school was the Bryn Mawrsomething � the school store was called the Bryn Mawrket, hee!

15. School colors?
White and gold in theory, but green and gold in reality. However our spring uniforms were inexplicably light blue � probably because another all-girls school had light green skirts already. Our winter uniforms were appropriately dark green or kilt. Do you know how hard it is to find green tights? No? Well it IS. And the ones that the Bryn Mawrket sold cost like eight hundred dollars.

16. Rival high school?
Roland Park.

17. Did you go to Prom?
Yes.

18. If you could go back and do it again, would you?
I got the chills just reading that question. NO, NO a thousand times NO.

19. What do you remember most about graduation?
It rained so we had to do it in the KVB gym instead of in the graduation garden, which sucked. Also, later that night we returned to the school campus to drink � by now Liz and I were back together � and we almost got busted by security drinking on the 50-yard line on one of the fields.

20. Where did you go senior skip day?
We tried to coordinate a skip day but I can�t remember if we failed, or if we ever had one?

21. Favorite memory?
God, there are so many. I remember driving up to the school the first day and finally seeing �Reserved for the Class of 1998� on the sign in front of senior parking. And I have so many great memories of sitting in the senior room that year, talking to everyone and listening to music. And giving my convocation was awesome and I got a standing ovation, so that�s high on the list. I feel like senior year was the year that we all really gelled as a class, and all truly became friends regardless of our differences. Awww, love you BMS class of �98!

22. Were you in any clubs?
I can�t remember. Probably for getting-into-college purposes.

23. Where did you go most often for lunch?
Subway, Sam�s bagels, and the Towson mall had good salads so we went there a lot too.

24. Have you gained some weight since then?
Unfortunately yes. I remember being insanely weight-conscious in high school (who wasn�t, really?) and then realizing later that I just had no idea how to dress myself and always wore oddly baggy shirts that made me look heavy. Come back high school body! I will dress you properly now!

25. Who was your prom date?
I took a friend from one of my classes. We took co-ed classes with the boys� school across the street once we started Junior year, so I took a boy, not a girl.

26. Are you planning on going to your 10-year reunion?
Ugh. I am SO not a reunion person. I talk to the people that I want to stay in touch with; I don�t need to see all 77 of us crammed into a room, growing wrinkles. But I haven�t crossed it off the list entirely yet, I do love those girls to death.

27. Who was your home room teacher?
We didn�t have home room teachers. We had the oh-so-innovative four-period day � where each class was 70 minutes long (KILL ME!) with 15 minutes breaks in between and an hour and a half for lunch (I think). It was a ten-day rotating schedule so after each 10 day cycle you would have had everything once, plus one dance class because we were required to take dance lessons all four years. Um, CHRIST, that sounds AWFUL.

28. Who will respond to this?
Hopefully everyone who�s blog I read.

29. Who was your high school sweetheart?
I didn�t have one.

30. Do you still talk to people from high school?
Yes!

31. Did you win prom queen or king?
We didn�t have that either.

32. Where did you work at in high school?
Nowhere. I briefly had a job at an ice-cream place when I was 15 but that didn�t really work out.

33. What were your grades?
A�s and B�s, an occasional C in a class like physics. Although by the end of school I was getting almost all A�s because I had more choice about the classes I could take.

11:16 a.m. - 2007-10-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones