Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tulane

Wow, I'm totally the most selfish bastard ever. That hurricane thingy that just splashed across the Gulf Coast was totally off my radar until about last night. I wasn't really concerned - I don't live down there anymore so I don't care. But I looked at the news last night and I realize now that things are pretty fucked up for people living there now. And I feel terrible for not giving a shit.

Also I finally looked at Tulane's website and it's like DOWN and has been replaced by an emergency update thingy.

They evacuated all of Tulane's students to Jackson, Mississippi cause I guess Tulane is completely closed. And has no power or anything.

It made me sad scrolling back to the beginning of the emergency reports and seeing that it starts out all, "We're aware of the hurricane but right now it's all good, classes are on" to "HOLY FUCKING SHIT SCHOOL MIGHT NEVER START AGAIN!! EVERYONE GO HOME!!! EVERYONE GO HOME!!" Like, geez. I feel worst for the kids who were about to start their freshman year and were nervous and excited and then their fucking college gets blown away.

Well, that's overly dramatic. The school is fine and still standing, it's slightly damaged and apparently about to be underwater. But as they say it's been there for over 170 years so it must be built pretty strong cause they have bad storms all the time. Several while I lived down there. All of them I scoffed at, and rightly so, and that's why I didn't give a shit about this one.

MY freshman year we had a big hurricane, I can't remember it's name but I think it was that gay-ass french one that started with a G (Georges?). I had mono at the time (SUCK!) and they made all the students that didn't evacuate the city sleep in the HALLWAYS of the dorms that were deemed strong enough to act as emergency shelters. That was like ONE DORM so we were all ushered out of our rooms and stuffed into hallways so if the windows shattered we wouldn't die. And no one was allowed above the something floor - 9?

So a bunch of freshman just sat around in the hallway and drank for a few days. We had RA's watching us but they were all drinking too so it was pretty fun. We never lost power and just got a lot of rain - ultimately the storm had missed the city and crushed Biloxi. Poor Biloxi, they always get fucked.

So I guess I went into that storm thinking, "What the fuck? Who really cares, it's just rain and wind" and when the storm was over I had basically been right. Katrina doesn't seem to have gone that way at all and that's really sad. I do know a few people that still live down there but I have no doubt they are all safe. I know for sure that two of them evacuated the city long before the storm came through, the third I just hope is okay. I know the city will recover, it's an old ass city, but it sounds like conditions are pretty sucky right now. I feel sad about that. I love you NOLA even if I am glad I don't live there anymore.

Also this whole missing ex girlfriend thing is wigging me out more than it should. Sort of like the N.O. thing, you take it for granted that those pieces of your past will always be there if you want to revisit them. But then they go insane and disappear, or get blown away in a freak of nature storm. Weird.

[Incidentally I went to Tulane for undergrad so that's what that's all about. In case you didn't know.]

10:48 a.m. - 2005-08-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones