Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Valentine's Day recap

Hello. It's Tuesday. The fifteenth of February.

I'm glad it's Tuesday because Monday is never a nice day to be experiencing. However, yesterday's Monday was a very very interesting one. But not for any reasons that I'm going to talk about here - yet.

Sunday night I made a tactical mistake. One of my early V-day gifts was some red wine to go with the pork loin that I was preparing for dinner. And can I just say that the pork came out exactly how I've always wanted it to? Perfectly marinated with garlic, olive oil, and a variety of spices. I inhaled half of that giant slab of meat and several glasses of wine. Professor K did the same.

We popped in one of the Red Sox 2004 World Series DVDs and watched it - the one narrated by Denis Leary. It was so good and I totally cried and guzzled my red wine.

It was such an enjoyable time that we busted out the Patriots 2004 Superbowl DVD and watched that too. Less tears but OOPS! ran out of wine...what can we drink now? I know! The last inches of all the almost-empty bottles of whiskey, rum, gin, whatever we can find. Yay!

Waking up Monday morning sucked. Despite a 5 am water guzzle and aspirin session. I had an HR offsite downtown so there was no way out, I had to show up. It was nice riding into work with Professor K since we both took the T. We held hands on the bus.

I got through the day alright but the offsite was a complete waste of time. Nothing was accomplished, the head of HR spent a lot of time standing by the food table eating brownies, and everyone checked out long before it was over. The day ended with a tour of MIT's campus and I could barely hack it - each building was 80 degrees and we were walking with our coats and bags. It was like a death march. A few people, *cough* Mary *cough*, left early feigning illness and bad knees. I left at four like we were supposed to and stopped in Harvard Square to grab a V-day card.

I came home to a walked dog, twelve red roses, a homemade card (aww!) and a bottle of champagne. The night was really great - we talked a lot, we went out to eat, and we watched Showgirls while drinking champagne. It was an early night due to our exhaustion from the day before but still really sweet and romantic.

Today is back to work as normal, no hangover and no offsite. Free coffee and some pointless work, and a head full of things that need to be considered. Based on some events yesterday our lives have changed a bit. The only thing that I know for sure, going forward, is that Professor K and I are in it for the long haul.

This weekend it's off to New York and I'm very excited that we're getting away. We both are. We haven't really gone anywhere since the last time we went to Vermont. Things are going really well with us right now anyway but trips always add a spark. And no pets! Sometimes it's nice to get away from the responsibilities.

9:33 a.m. - 2005-02-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones