Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

blizzard survival and Superbowl dreams

Excuse me while I do a Superbowl/Blizzard jig.

*jig* *jig* YEEHAW! *jig* *jig*

I think I broke my ankle jumping around the living room yesterday. I've not watched such a thrilling football game in ever so long. Evah. As hoped for the mighty Patriots stomped the Steelers and reminded them why they are, in fact, defending world champions. Three interceptions were fun to watch. Every single one of our TDs seemed to come oh so easily and looked beautiful. We watched the majority of the game standing up, screaming. Superbowl!!!

The blizzard was so fun and exciting! I haven't seen that much snow maybe ever. We definitely had at least two feet in our front yard and anywhere from 5 to 10 inches all over our deck. Bailey was actually doing her business on the snow covered deck because she couldn't find the stairs to go down. And there was no "down" - the pile of snow in our yard was basically level with the deck. We stayed nice and warm and lightly tipsy Saturday night and Sunday was laziness and football. We did emerge to shovel and the snow was light and fluffy and moved easily. Now there are snow dunes all over the state from the crazy winds blowing all day Sunday.

I was just going to write about how much I enjoy freakishly outrageous acts of nature but then I thought of the tsunami. For all the excitement of a big snowstorm there is always the knowledge that people die when things like this happen.

A little boy died in Massachusetts after he inhaled carbon monoxide while waiting in a running car for his parents to dig it out. Apparently the tailpipe was full of snow. And lots of people lost power and were probably freezing in their dark houses. I always wonder where the homeless go for storms like this and hope there's enough room in the shelters.

So really we had it pretty easy. I was hoping against hope for a snow day today but no such luck. Both of us had to get our asses out of the house and off to work. And hey, where'd the sidewalk go? I don't think we'll be seeing it for several weeks. And more snow is coming, along with colder temps, so I have a feeling these piles of white will be dingy, brown reminders of endless winter four months from now when we're ready for summer.

For the time being all is hunky dory and lovey with the landlord. He has been very nice to us and in return we have been very nice to him. He has his brothers in town this weekend (what a weekend to pick!) and they all look like him and seem just as eager to tank up and shout. Good guys, very nice.

My boss leaves for Florida tonight. She's out until Friday. Jealous?

1:17 p.m. - 2005-01-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones