Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

New Year's Resolutions Again

I didn't make any unrealistic New Year's resolutions this year. Basically read more and lose weight were my major ones, and I've been consistent on both so far. Of course a glance at the calendar tells me that my priorities may change over the course of the next 11 months. But for the time being I'm feeling positive.

I am voraciously reading India: A History which is flexing my brain in a satisfying way.

I haven't cracked a thick history book since the fine days of college. I did major in history in college and loved every second of it - the thick, dense books with "NO PICTURES??" (a direct quote from my ex), the long papers, the theories, and the best part of all: knowing what happened.

When I say that I know that history is a biased discipline, aren't they all?, but to me it's like connecting the dots.

I took a wonderful year of Russian history, two semesters, where the professor got me so excited. I read "War and Peace" over my holiday break in between semesters because he said it was a good book. I got A+'s both semesters and it was out of love and dedication, not stressing and sweating.

Over the course of my four years I took Latin American, U.S. up the wazoo, Russian, African, a summer of Japanese history at Tufts, Women's history, and a number of other classes that won't come to me now. I always got A's because the work came so naturally to me.

I find myself recapturing that serene space that I treasured in college where I'm lost in a thick book with a pen in my hand, underlining and learning with every page. I don't really NEED to underline in my current book but it comes so naturally that I do it just to keep things flowing.

It's a great book, that's my point.

I heard from my brother yesterday and he sent us potential dates he and Kristin are available for Professor K and I to come stay with them in NYC. It's their last six months in Manhattan and I've got to take advantage of that just one more time before they move up here. We'll most likely be going President's weekend, which is fine by me. Their apartment is tiny but has an amazing view. I might end up sleeping in the bathtub but that's alright with me!

Tonight: we get rid of our Christmas tree.

11:29 a.m. - 2005-01-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones