Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Lovely Bones

Our Christmas tree is gone. He left behind a large number of his spikey pine needles, one of which somehow got in my eye, but last I saw of him he was resting on the curb next to our intimidating pile of post-Christmas garbage.

Balls, we will miss you.

After cleaning up a large portion of our Christmas junk last night I did some dishes and some laundry. By the time I sat down to read my book about India I was tired and my back hurt. I decided I needed something lighter, more of a novel, so I picked up my copy of The Lovely Bones which I've had for months but never started reading.

For some reason I thought it was going to be really dark - I think someone told me they thought it was depressing, possibly my mother. Anyway, I'm loving it! It reads very quickly and easily and is enjoyable along the way. It's the perfect balance to a nonfiction history book. I purchased Lucky the other day. I'm not sure why since at the time I hadn't even started The Lovely Bones, but now I'm glad I did. Ah yes, I remember - I heard on Howard Stern that it had a very disturbing rape scene. And here's something you may not know about me: rape scenes fascinate me. I'm not pro-rape I just enjoy reading about it or watching it on movies. For no good reason since I'm not into overly violent sex. But maybe I will be someday.

This morning it was difficult getting out of my warm bed. Of course Mr. Hunter tried to make it happen quite a bit earlier than I wanted it to. He was taunting Bailey and getting her panties all in a bunch. We keep a bowl of food and water in the bedroom for Bailey since typically we lock the cat out at night and we want Bailey to have access to yum yums and refreshments. Last night Professor K came to bed last and kept the door open since Hunter was already asleep on the bed and not causing any trouble. But at sometime near 5 a.m. I suddenly heard "crunch crunch crunch". I could feel Bailey's fuzzy body next to me so I knew she wasn't eating...Bailey and I must have been having the same train of thought because a second later she sat bolt upright and started struggling her way out of the blankets. Once free she ran quickly to the foot of the bed, barking at the cat with one of her short, shrill warning barks. The cat ran away and Bailey guarded her food for a minute before returning to the bed.

A half hour later: "crunch crunch crunch". *struggle struggle* *run* "BARK!"

I am so weak when it comes to my bed. I get up first every morning to shower and I try really hard to get up when I'm supposed to so I don't throw off Professor K's schedule. But as soon as I'm out of the shower with teeth brushed and face washed I typically climb back in bed for five to ten minutes. It's so easy to pull the heavy down comforter over my bathrobe and just float off into no man's land. Professor K is always still asleep so he just snuggles toward me, Bailey puts her head on my leg or my foot (tickly!) and it feels so good. Needless to say I'm looking forward to this upcoming three day weekend for snuggling and sleeping purposes. Also the Patriots of course!

9:46 a.m. - 2005-01-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones