Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Welcome to 2005

Yay 2005!

I say that but in reality I have virtually no feelings about it being January or a new year.

I have the inevitable (for me) post-Christmas blues. Currently I'm trying to get motivated to work hard and make my job a priority and get down to my fighting weight.

But I have this overwhelming sense of sadness and anxiety about all these little insignificant details.

This morning as I was giving Bailey her lime disease pill Professor K announced "It's the first day back at work in the new year. That means today is a model: if the day sucks, the rest of the year will suck." I laughed at the time but Jesus H. Christ, famous last words.

I walked outside to my car to leave for work: two shiny orange parking tickets, one on my car, one on his. We forgot that last night was back to parking off the street and they were anal about it. Okay, I smiled when I saw it was only $15. No big deal.

I got in my car, started it, and felt a rumbly jiggly feeling. Umm...okay, that'll probably go away. Put it in drive and immediately the check engine light is flashing and the car is rumbling and spazzing out. I shut it off and started it again, figuring it was a random fluke. It still flashed and jiggled but I tried driving it down the block - no good.

Almost in tears I pulled up outside my house again feeling frustrated and defeated. Professor K met me at the stairs and I explained my car problem. He told me to take his car to work which I did happily. I was nervous driving a different car but it was the better choice between staying home to deal with the problem and just getting my ass to work. Now I'm dreading getting home and having to deal with the car at all. Say a prayer that it was just a fluke and will be fine and dandy as soon as I start it.

Professor K emailed me around 9:15 to tell me that his godfather died this morning. The guy was sick with terminal cancer and expected to die years ago but still it's very sad. And I couldn't help but think "this is the model for the rest of my year?"

But nah, I don't believe that anyway. It's really just Monday. I learned cool new HTML and that really made my day. Work is no big deal and my new diet has gotten me excited about liking my body again.

4:33 p.m. - 2005-01-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones