Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

New Year's Resolutions

This weekend I read A Million Little Pieces by, I think, James Frey. It was good and kept my attention. I had some moments of "huh?" when things didn't seem real enough. I kept wondering if any of the story had actually happened to the author, flipping to the back picture to see if it told me one way or the other.

My New Year's Resolution will be to read more. And to ask for recommendations from others and to give recommendations. To re-read my old favorites that I haven't read in ages, and to write more for myself.

We are getting a new computer sometime between now and January 7th. A working computer, maybe I should have said that first. And also, we have a scanner. Once this dream setup becomes reality, I may have to suck it up and get a Gold Membership so that I can post pictures. Either way it will be nice to have the majik internet machine at home again.

Lennie from Law and Order died - Jerry Orbach. I'm like shockingly upset about it. I just got the last season of L&O on DVD for Christmas and I've watched about four of the episodes, loving every second. And now my favorite dude is gone. He was seriously a great actor; I saw a special about that dancing Fosse guy on TV recently and there was Jerry Orbach singing and dancing. Weird. He will be missed.

I'm feeling very removed from everything right now. At home it's just time passing by, no more Christmas to look forward to. I sound like a five year old but it's depressing. The presents are not as much fun unwrapped as they were sitting under the tree.

I am definitely an anticipation kind of girl. This long weekend I'm hoping we can stick to our plan to go wine tasting. Spending the whole weekend apart did not do good things for our current state of relationship. I'm hoping that an "us" day spent away from TV, family, and cleaning will do some good. Also, the sweaters I got him for Christmas look great on him. And he loved his digital picture printer, and many of the other things I got him.

4:07 p.m. - 2004-12-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones