Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Moan Day

YES! Finally got in and can now gleefully write an entry. Diaryland has been fucking with me all day. Damn the overload!

It's Monday.

But that's not too dreadful today. All I have to think about is how horrible my hangover was last week, and how 7 days ago at exactly this time I was creating it, and I'm glad to be at work. Sometimes I need structure.

It's the 7th of the month and thanks to my careful tracking of my bad days (see entries from previous months), today or tomorrow should be one of them. Today I feel fine, so maybe tomorrow I'll be psyscho bitch. Or maybe awareness of them will make the bad days go away. Let's hope!

If you're not currently reading Television Without Pity you really should be. It's hilarious. I've read all the recaps from the most recent Real Worlds back to Hawaii, as well as Newlyweds recaps, Fraternity Life, Osbournes - all the reality shows. And it's like watching TV at work, only with the snarky comments already supplied for you.

While reading I have many, many times had to turn my head into the furthest corner of my cubicle after snorting loudly in hysterics. And the best part is that many of the people on the reality shows know about TWoP and read it, and get offended when they are ripped a new asshole.

But seriously, if you're going to be dumb enough to allow your life to be videotaped you should also be forced to read scathing criticism of all your actions. If you want to lead a relatively annonymous life, all you need to do is *gasp* NOT go on a reality show! Who knew it was so simple?

Anytime I hear an ex-Real Worlder (or Road Ruler, or Big Brother-er, whatever) complain about the price of "fame", or the judgemental nature of people who watch the show I want to laugh. Please! One of the reasons reality TV is so successful is because who doesn't enjoy watching someone else fuck up? How much better does it make you feel about your own life when someone young, hot, and desperate for fame is filmed puking (I'm looking at you Frankie), falling down, getting arrested, or otherwise humiliating themselves and their family? Human nature people!

________________________________________

Professor K and I have finally smoked together! The first time was last Sunday night. I got some, we went home and rented movies and got food, and then we puffed.

It was actually great, which surprised me. I was very careful about packing small amounts and easing into it and the Professor responded well. We tried to watch the second Harry Potter movie because he's really into it, having read all the books, and I had only seen the first movie (practically at gunpoint). So I agreed to "catch up" so we could go see the third one in the theater.

Ugh. Let's just say Harry Potter and smoke do not go together. I hated it, and at one point he turned to me and said "you know...nothing ever really happens in this movie. Why don't we turn it off?" and I had never heard sweeter words. We turned it off and watched bad TV and ate candy and talked a bit. I was pleased at how well the whole thing went. Mainly because of the huge disparity in our levels of experience.

Saturday night we did it again, after a really nice romantic Italian dinner with great wine and great food. We went back home (to my place) and drank more wine and smoked. Again, it was really nice. We watched TV and talked and then eventually busted out the whip cream for some fun dessert time.

We had bought two buckets of Cool Whip - one for Professor K to eat and one for "fun time". It was entertaining as hell, and I always always sleep better after I smoke. I don't think we'll ever be doing it all the time together, but it's nice to know we can have fun together that way.

Sunday I went to see Harry Potter 3. Sober. Thankfully we had stopped by my folks house to do laundry before we went and they were home - they were supposed to be in Falmouth or Chatham or something - and my mom is a huge Harry Potter fan too, so they went with us.

Dad and I cracked on the movie and Mom and the Professor discussed all the nuances, using the fucked up vocabulary like the Potter pros that they are. It was a really nice dynamic. Professor K has a lot of personality similarities to my mother, while I am a lot like my father. It makes me feel good to notice that because my folks have been happily married for over 30 years. The movie wasn't too bad - I stayed entertained, even after my butt fell asleep - and I'm glad Professor K got to see it because I know he really wanted to.

________________________________________

Hunter is getting BIG. I cannot believe how quickly he's growing! He's definitely doubled in size since we got him - he's still tiny but has a presence and weighs something when you pick him up. And he loves Professor K so much! They've really bonded. I love him a lot too, but I kind of let the Professor do most of the playing with him since it's his first pet. I still do the feeding and the litter cleaning, but sometimes he does it too so I'm not going to argue.

Okay but a weird thing happened on Sunday morning. I was sleeping pretty soundly with Bailey tucked behind my knees and Hunter sort of under my neck. I wasn't wearing any clothes, and Hunter was moving around and doing weird kitty things. And then I felt the strangest sensation on my right nipple.

Hunter had latched onto it with his tiny kitten mouth and was actually kneeding my breast with his paws - he was trying to nurse off me! It was really freaky, so I sat up and said "Hunter's nursing on me!" and th Professor and I laughed, kind of - but only after I removed him and handed him over to the other side of the bed.

That's the second time he's tried to do that, but only the first time he's actually made contact. It surprises me that he would try to do that - I would think he would be more inclined to try to nurse on Bailey than on me. But whatever. Pets are strange. And SO entertaining.

Hunter is an adorable muppet. His head is shaped like a little helmet, and the soot from his roll in the fireplace is mostly gone from his back. He's got tiny paws that often smell like pooh from his jaunts in the litter box. Yesterday I took out his litter liner and put in all new litter and he spent at least twenty minutes rolling around in his sand box, playing and digging, until he finally took what looked to be an extremely pleasurable crap. It was way too cute. Bailey stood there watching him, mesmerized.

I feel so much better knowing they have each other to interact with during the day when I'm not there. I know Bailey probably could have gone on without a sibling to play with but I think she appreciates the company. I'm looking forward to my parents meeting Hunter now - I'll tell them soon. I swear!

3:55 p.m. - 2004-06-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones