Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2sday

I got to work late today. I'm such a slug.

I decided to stay up way too late last night - no, I wasn't drinking - and then had a hard time dragging myself out of bed this morning. By the time I did it was almost 8 and I usually leave for work at 8. I totally fucked up, called my coworker Mary to get her to cover for me, and took my time getting ready for work. I was all nervous about it but once I talked to everyone I work with they were all "Hey! It happens! Don't worry about it!" and I'm left totally boggled by the fact that this place is as relaxed as it is.

And after I confessed to my boss that I had gotten here late she opened an email that I sent her yesterday asking if I could leave early on Friday to take Hunter to the vet. She came out of her office kind of serious-looking, all "about your vet appointment on Friday...." and I figured she was going to say that since I had come in late today she thought it would be better if I rescheduled. But instead she said something about how she trusts me to make up the time and I don't need to show her my time card or prove that I've made up the time because she knows I don't take a lunch a few times a week, and she also cited a time last week when she was with me all afternoon and knew I hadn't taken a lunch. Plus every Friday I stay late to gossip with her, one night I didn't leave until almost six and we were talking from about 4:30. It's great fun and I don't mind doing it.

But I've honestly never had a boss that legitimately recognized when I put in extra time, and who also told me they trusted me to make up lost time and actually meant it! It makes me feel good, and relaxed.

My last job...ugh, so bad. One time I tried to call in on Monday morning - I really needed to not be at work that day, for a variety of reasons - and they called me back a little while later and told me to come in anyway.

My boss had apparently asked me to do something with him that afternoon that was necessary "AY sap". So I dragged myself to work, ran to his office, and he had already assigned the work to someone else. And I was sitting there like "the FUCK?" because if it was so easy to reassign the work then why the hell did they call me at home?

So it's nice to work someplace where everyone is late sometimes, everyone takes sick takes suspiciously close together, and my boss never feels the need to make me account for my time. I get bored a lot, but at least I don't want to kill myself when I wake up in the morning.

________________________________________

Hunter was being a little bastard this morning. A cutie pie, but a bastard. It was 6:15 so I still had an hour to sleep (forget the fact that I ended up sleeping almost two hours longer) and he came up to me purring like a lawn mower. He was burrowing his tiny head into my neck, which was really cute. He kept licking my neck and purring and rubbing his face on me. But the problem was that I was really trying to get some last minute sleep and his whiskers were tickling me and he was kneeding my neck with his nails out.

I tried to put up with it as long as I could but he wouldn't just settle down and go to sleep, he kept doing it. And it HURT. So I finally put him on the other side of me and he started scratching my back with his tiny nails. Ugh. Please don't disturb me in the morning, I am not pleasant.

I wrapped myself in my covers after looking at him and firmly saying "NO!" Bailey gave him a look, she knows the morning drill - don't bother Mommy unless it's an EMERGENCY. He eventually settled down and fell asleep like a good kitten, but not before thoroughly annoying the crap out of me.

I'm tired. It's almost 2, so three more hours and I can go home. I never took a lunch so I don't have to make up the time I missed this morning. But not having left my desk makes the day drag so much more.

________________________________________

Superstar USA - watched it last night and laughed my ass off (or LMAO, hee). It has got to be the MEANEST prank a network has ever pulled on innocent people. The WB tries to pass it off like they're looking for someone who has a great personalty and has the POTENTIAL to be a big star, and they're going to award them money and prizes so it makes it okay.

But puh-leeze, how humiliated are these people going to be when they find out the truth? And the fact that the contestants have never heard each other sing, isn't that kind of strange to them? Are they sequestered from each other all the time? Because from the five minutes I've suffered of American Idol it seems like the contestants sit around shoo-bee-doo-wee-bopping all together, practicing their art. I would think the Superstar USA jackasses would want to do that too!

Okay, funniest moment for me was when the first kid, Scrawny Dork with Glasses, sang some Jessica Simpson song and had a few female back-up dancers. He was supposed to dance seductively with them, but throughout his "dance" he looked like a huge preying mantis perching on the stage. He attempted the oh-so-sexy "hit it from the back" dance move with one of the girls but he was so hunched over and skinny that he looked like he was pushing a shopping cart. Hee! I laughed and laughed, and a little pee might have come out...maybe.

And then, to top the whole performance off, the last judge, the one that's supposed to tell it like it is ala Simon Cowell, told him that he thought he had "taken liberties" with his backup dancers. HAHAHAHAHA! And Scrawny McGoofball had this big pimpin' look on his face, like he was all proud, his true studdly nature having been uncovered on national TV. He must have been suicidal watching the replay of the show.

That's the part that kills me - the utter and total humiliation these people are going to suffer, or have already suffered. I mean they suck ass in the performing department but this is their DREAM and they really don't deserve to be laughed at by an entire nation (okay, a few hundred WB watchers).

In one segment of the show they took each of the remaining four to a mansion in L.A. and had them tour it as if they would be able to purchase it one day. The point was to show these potential stars what the good life was like. And these poor, sad jackasses were filmed asking questions like whether the stove was electric or gas, or if the pipes were copper. Like they had any chance of ever affording the house! It was so mean...and hilarious.

The pretty blond girl is pretty fucking funny too - she tries so hard to sing well and is just so completely off key. They assigned her "All By Myself", which as you know has a lot of high, loud notes. Perfect for her, as she spent most of the song on her knees on the stage, thrashing about and screaming into the microphone. It was so so bad. Her dramatic "trills"....oh, classic TV. And poor Jo Jo who talked about himself in the third person and sang Crazy in Love, he was just a big gay stereotype. From his "sexy" facial expressions that included pressing the tip of his tongue to the bottom edge of his front teeth, his constant "Jo Jo style!" comments, and his use of the word "badonkadonk" in reference to his fat ass (*shudder*) it was like watching an ugly version of Will & Grace. He was cut, unfortunately, and I was devastated.

I thought Rosa the no-English speaking retard should have been cut. She sucks ass, really, but the only reason she's funny is because she's so damn cocky about her "talent" that you WANT her to be humiliated.

Damn, I need to stop talking about TV. How sad is it when the most interesting thing you can write about is a TV show that you've seen twice?

I also smoked last night, as did Professor K. It made the show a lot funnier. And the Professor was looking mighty fine. His hair, as I believe I mentioned, has grown out well. And he has caught on about my love of facial hair - on him - and is growing a beard, sort of. I love that! He just has a total babyface and I find myself more attracted to him when he looks rough and sexy with some five o'clock shadow.

1:35 p.m. - 2004-06-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones