Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Boys :) aka The One

I am so lame....

I wasn't sure I was going to write about this because I really don't want to jinx it, but I met someone last night.

It was such a random, instinctual thing...of course it was through online dating.

He e-mailed me yesterday. We had the BEST series of e-mail exchanges, he would write paragraphs back to me instead of two sentences (I love prolific writers!) and we had so much in common it was kind of weird.

We wrote back and forth all day long, and then he asked if I wanted to go out that night. I was hesitant, it was Monday and I was tired and had plans Tuesday night so wasn't looking to be crazy, going-out-all-the-time Carly, but considered it because I felt so good about our connection. I agreed, and we decided to have dinner in my area.

Seriously, this was the first date that I wasn't nervous about! I mean, a little tiny bit nervous, but nothing like the sweaty-palms, stomach churning nerves of previous dates. I just felt good about the whole thing. And when I first heard his voice on the phone, I thought "nice" cause it was deep, normal, male. And when I first saw him he was CUTE, so much cuter than his pictures! And he smelled great, was wearing a really attractive blue shirt, talked a lot despite claiming to be exhausted...

Once the food was cleared away (oh yeah, he paid for dinner - but I offered to pay half!!) we started talking and we sat in our booth for hours with glasses of water and talked. About everything...family, friends, relationships, dreams. It was so relaxing.

I told him around 9:45 that I needed to get home, but only because I needed to walk my dog. He was very sweet and understanding, and took me home in his HUGE truck (for some reason I find that really hot too, who knows why?) and I asked if he wanted to meet my dog, after having warned him about her anti-male behavior.

Neither one of us wanted to say goodnight, and we could both tell, so I said that kind of randomly and he asked "are you serious? cause it you are, yes". We parked, went up to my apartment, and he faced Bailey's wrath. And she barked her little head off, but he got down on the floor and rubbed her and said how pretty she was and was very patient. It was so sweet.

Then we sat on the couch, had a beer, Bailey wedged herself in between us (what a good chaperone she is) and we talked and talked.

At some point I put the TV on and as it got later and later we talked less and watched TV more. And at some point I shoved Bailey over to my left side so I was finally leaning against him, his arm around me, my head on his shoulder, and we just lay there all cozy. He was warm, and his hand was just brushing my left arm slowly, back and forth - he had been using that hand to gently rub Bailey's back, but had moved it over slowly... I was loving how gentle he was.

There was this perfect moment were our heads were very close together and Bailey was stretched across my stomach and put her head on his chest, so that all three of our heads were inches apart, and we were both looking at her and then at each other... it was like so perfect.

He didn't try to kiss me or anything, Bailey would have tried to bite him and he knew that. Also, I wasn't sure I was feeling like doing any more than we were doing - that's gotta mean something, right? And when he finally left after 1am, we were both all sleepy and happy and we just hugged goodbye.

I was sure he would at least try to kiss me but he didn't...he just left. And I was disappointed a little, but not too much b/c I was nervous about kissing him.

I tried to go right to sleep, it was so late and I was going to be tired anyway, but I couldn't...I was laying in bed all snuggly under my down comforter, thinking about him. And how I wished he was there, not to sleep with him but just to SLEEP with him. He would have fit in perfectly.

I dreamed about him...And woke up feeling like ass. Dry eyes, exhausted, stomach all iffy (and I hadn't drank anything but water and one beer the night before), but feeling really happy anyway. I came to work and checked my e-mail frantically, like a mental patient, to see if he had written yet. Nope...so I e-mailed him.

I had already told two friends of mine about him, plus two coworkers (older ladies who like to claim they live vicariously through me), and one of them had asked me "Do you think he'll call?" and it had never occurred to me that he wouldn't! So I figured I'd just tell him I had a great time, no reason not to. And then I waited for his response, running around my building to deliver paperwork and stuff like that.

When he wrote back, god, his e-mail was so perfect and so sweet that I actually SQUEALED at my DESK. This is something I have not done in quite a long time, maybe since I was 18, but such is life. He just basically said everything I was thinking, that he loved just being close together and not talking, that he wanted to see me again soon, that he thought I was beautiful, that he wanted me to e-mail him all day at work even though I know full well he's swamped with work...

Damn, this guy is definitely worth all the stupid losers before him. I actually canceled my date with another guy tonight. Screw it, who cares? Why would I want to go out on another date with yet another disappointment? I'm going to go with my instincts on this one and just see how it goes...

I cannot wipe the smile off my face today

10:53 a.m. - 2004-03-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones