Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wednesday morning...woo!

I'm trying to unwind after a very, very long day that culminated in a work-related Boston Harbor cruise. A lovely proposition, really, when you factor in free lobster, free drinks, and a hearty helping of 70's disco grooves.

The parts that were not as fun were the a)totally unexpected last minute drunken attack by two virtual (drunken) strangers who, apparently, know all about me, including my first and last name. It was an odd mix between being violently hit on and being sexually harassed, while simulataneously being "teased" for being a stuck up bitch. Awesome!

b) The attempted T-ride home that took over an hour to go a distance that would have taken ten minutes in a car. There happened to be a lovely Sox game AND a lovely concert so the T was a might bit congested for a Tuesday at 11 p.m.

Actually my evening was pretty fun, it was just a TUESDAY. I'm not so much with the late-night partying on the first few nights of the week (ahem, RED, I'm looking at YOU). And now it's almost 1 in the morning and I'm wired and I can't get relaxed enough to give lying down a try.

I'm currently in the process of a semi-serious job search. I say semi-serious because it is my intention to leave my current place of employment, but I am not leaving on the first train out. I am actively looking for THE JOB, the best job, and I'm not giving up until I find it. Money, environment, perks, career match, etc. Lots to think about.

Nights like tonight, however, when I had a great night with coworkers and felt well-known (enough to be harassed, apparently) I feel sad that I basically have to leave my job. It just.doesn't.pay.enough. The benefits are great, my boss is great, I know what I'm doing...but they pay shit and they treat my area like shit. It might be nice to feel appreciated every once in a while, or valued, or not be called a SECRETARY. Which, HELLO, is totally not my job title but THANKS!

Argh. I'm tired but not tired. And my car is located at work right now, probably all lonely and sad, just waiting for me to come pick him up. Which means up early tomorrow to grab the bus to the train to the bus, on my wonderful voyage off to work! Gah.

Time for sleep? Argh, maybe a glass of wine and a book.

12:42 a.m. - 2006-08-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones