Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Halloween?

Where have all the trick or treaters gone?

I've talked to many of my coworkers about their volume of trick or treaters last night and so far I've come to one conclusion: kids are being bussed out to certain ideal locations and totally bypassing their own neighborhoods.

Last night I got three groups of ToT'ers. Two boys who looked a bit too old to be out and who gaped at my breasts, my landlord's children (uh, remember how we gave them candy so they WOULDN'T show up? Yeah, not so much), and another group of small kids. And I live in a heavily populated area that has a fairly decent number of ToT-aged children.

The coworkers I have who live in suburban McMansions with cul de sacs and real live mailboxes got HUNDREDS of kids. So many kids that many of them had to shut down their lights and hide in their upstairs media rooms while tiny ghosts and witches banged incessantly at their doors.

Families must be deciding that they have more success by traveling to upper middle class areas where the homeowners are friendlier and the candy is abundant.

However I, as a candy purchaser, object. I had plenty of candy to go around and two charming jack o' lanterns in the window and a gay orange ribbon on my staircase. Why bypass my house? We gave out LARGE SIZE Kit Kats to those who chose to knock at our door, and we let them take as much of the other candy as they wanted. We didn't have to say "only one" because we never worried about running out. We knew we could never run out of candy, not in a million years.

Today I have a basket full of leftover candy on my desk and I am not the only one. Many people have been complaining that they were prepared for several kids and got next to none. They missed out on the fun of seeing little kids in costume and also wasted money on pointless tiny snickers. Meanwhile suburbanites are complaining that they didn't have enough candy to go around, and that minivans full of ten kids each hit their house every five minutes for a three-hour period.

So next year maybe some of you can bring your little kids to my house for candy? Otherwise I have a feeling that those of us who were spurned by the Halloween crush may just turn out our lights next year. And eat all of our giant Kit Kats ourselves.

10:26 a.m. - 2005-11-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones