Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Moving

I am currently boxed into my desk at work, totally surrounded by blue crates, brown boxes, and dust. There are several burly work men dismantling our files.

There's no work for me to do if there are no files. My desk is practically empty, one side of it ECHOED when I opened a drawer.

This would be kind of awesome if I had some fun coworkers to share it with. Someone like, oh, I don't know, her. We could wander around the building aimlessly pretending to help, smoke a cigarette, and maybe take a clock as a souvenier.

I can't figure out why they have us here all day today and almost all day tomorrow. We are OFFICE people, we cannot lift things. Our weak arms fail us and our carpal tunnel syndrome flares up. Our pasty skin balks at the first signs of sweat. Let us go home!

[quick digression: I just clapped and killed a mosquito! I don't think I've ever successfully done that before!]

And so the move is almost complete. And I need some caffeine and possibly a frosted breakfast treat.

Walking into the building this morning I caught a glimpse of my reflection in the glass windows. My first thought was "This shirt was a BIG mistake". I look like a sausage. Oh well, somebody loves me anyway.

Update: One of the burly workmen was just watching me put on strawberry chapstick and he said, "That's what makes your smile so pretty. I love it." Hee!

8:42 a.m. - 2005-09-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones