Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

my grandmother is a bitch

My grandmother is a total bitch.

I went over to my folks house yesterday during my lunch hour. We were talking about my grandparents and my mother told my father and I a bitch thing that my grandmother did at my brother's wedding.

During the "our family" picture, my SIL wanted to get Professor K into it since he was my date. When my grandmother heard her calling him she grabbed my SIL and said, emphatically, "NO! We only want our family in the picture" and so SIL obeyed her.

I don't blame her, I would have done the same thing in that situation. But it enraged me and my father. He asked "who the hell put her in charge anyway?" and said he wished he had overheard her because he would have overruled her.

It made me feel bad to hear that - I don't really remember there being any discussion of him being in the pictures but I never thought twice about it since it was my brother's wedding and not my say who was photographed.

At Thanksgiving Nana was horrible to me. She was listening to a conversation between me and my SIL and I was responding to SIL's question of whether or not I would enjoy painting your own pottery during a happy hour. It's a fun thing she wants to go do in NY and my brother apparently thinks it sounds lame so she was trying to get other opinions.

I said very enthusiastically "that sounds like fun! I'd love to do something like that" meaning, of course, that if that existed near where I live I would enjoy going.

My grandmother heard me and said "Well what do you care? You're not invited."

My jaw dropped, I replied "I know, I was just saying it sounds like fun. I've been looking into paint your own pottery around here", to which she said "Why? You don't have any artistic talent" and then she laughed.

I just sat there, stunned, feeling a little bit of that jaw-trembly thing. More than what she said I was just broadsided by the venom in her voice and the sharp, negative turn the conversation had taken from a lively enjoyable one with my sister-in-law.

I stared stonily away from my grandmother, wishing her dead, and she noticed my reaction and said "well, don't be offended. I haven't really seen your artwork. We'll have to take a look at it before we can judge it." That didn't make it better. Believe me. The woman is so awful.

Later, during a conversation with my uncle, my grandmother started pinching my arm, hard. She, again, acted like it was a joke but it fucking HURT. I grabbed my arm, looked at her and said "OW! Why are you doing that?" and she said something insane that I don't remember.

The thing is, she's doesn't have dementia or anything. She's totally together mentally, it's only physically she's deteriorating. She has always been mean and blunt and cold but it gets increasingly worse every year. At family gatherings it is all young people talking and joking and laughing and I think she feels left out and uses vile comments to direct attention her way. She is hands down the most judgemental person I have ever met.

She did some grilling of Professor K on Thanksgiving as well but I had warned him about her and he took it lightly. He bonded with my mom for a while when he asked her how her Thanksgiving was going and she ranted and raved about my evil grandmother (her mother-in-law) for a while.

We were in hysterics listening to her, she hates her more than any of us. Professor K later said to me that my grandmother looks like Gollum from LOTR, which cracked me up. She does because she's all hunched over and her head sticks out and she always has a scruched up frown on her face.

10:23 a.m. - 2004-12-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones