Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The cah

I am officially dubbing this the "Week of the Car".
I just got back from a little trip to the service station to have a brake light replaced. I think this may be the first time that I've ever had something on my car taken care of the day after I found out it needed fixing. Unless you count the days where my gas light goes on and I pull over and get gas as soon as possible. But that's different.

I was driving home from work yesterday, secure in the knowledge that my car has been serviced up the ass this week. Then I notice the guy in the hooptie behind me gesturing frantically and waving his arms out the window and honking. I turn to look at him out my window - turns out I can't see him around my car - so I look in the rearview mirror, raise my hands in the universal gesture for "What?" and mouth "what" at him. He yells "YOUR BRAKE LIGHT IS OUT!!!!"

Now, I appreciate that the man took the time to let me know since otherwise it might have been the cops telling me, but from his behavior I thought he was going to tell me I had a gas leak or my tires were on fire or something.

I decided that since I did not want to get randomly pulled over on my way to Vermont tonight that I would have that fixed today. And I did! It took five minutes and cost $10 - and I only had to be subjected to one "hon" and one wink. Woohoo!

Now, finally, THIS is the last thing that I am buying for the car this year. Unless hubcaps start flying off or the engine won't start. Otherwise, nothing until January.

SHIT! I just remembered that I'm going to have to eat these words - my inspection expires this month so I need to pay for that. But having all this work done ought to insure that I will pass. Right?

Three day weekend starts in five hours - is there anything sweeter? Perhaps the fact that my boss and my pseudo boss are on vacation today so it's goof off day? That's pretty sweet too.
I love me some Friday!

12:02 p.m. - 2004-10-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones