Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Terrible risk

I'm taking a terrible risk right now. I'm in a very important meeting and it's all blah blah this and blah blah that. I cannot take it anymore and (hopefully) discretely hooked my laptop to the internet. Go me! Meeting badass!

Uh oh. No privacy screen. Risk of oldilocks looking over my shoulder. Perhaps I should attempt to be more discrete?

Eh, whatever.

Some fat old dude knocked over my coffee at the beginning of the meeting, nearly spilling a flood of caffeinated goodness onto this borrowed laptop. He was nice enough to help me clean it up but then said "I'll leave the small stuff for you". Bitch.

There's a woman in front of me. From behind she looks like an attractive young professional - blond hair in a twist with a pretty, beaded clip. Navy blazer, tasteful gold hoops. But when she turns and I can see her profile she looks like my grandmother - jowly, sagging facial skin, deep crows feet, even her hands are pink and puffy and slightly liver spotted. I wonder how many times a man has been walking behind her in a grocery store thinking "what a hottie!" only to have her turn around and break his heart. It's not her fault. It's kind of odd to only look young from behind.

I'm so bored. And skeeved. For some reason watching overweight, balding white guys eat cookies, drink coffee and guffaw over the minutiae of their daily lives - it makes me feel sick. I look at their hands and when I see a wedding ring, as I inevitably do, I try to imagine what their wife is like. When they get home do they kiss their wives with their old man coffee breath? Do they take off their saggy-assed Dockers and put on jeans? When did they start balding?

There's one guy in particular here that just irks the shit out of me. He's one of those "important guys" who's been here for long enough to feel superior to just about everyone. He's like a college super duper senior - he knows everyone and everyone knows him. There seems to be some correlation in his mind between level of importance and slouchiness in his seat, so he leans WAAY back in his chair, slides down low, puts his hands behind his head, puts his ankle on his knee - generally sprawling out as much as possible and looking like an inconsiderate JACKASS to the people attemting to see around him. In high school he'd be King Geek - he's got huge coke bottle 80's glasses, he's pauchy and balding (big surprise), and he's very technical. But he's in his element here! He's brash, arrogant, and obnoxious to no end. He talks to hear himself and his beady eyes just gleam every time he interrupts the presentation and throws everything off track.

I loathe him.

I'm glad I found an effective way to pass the time - a three hour meeting where I am not asked for input is just too much.

Did I already say that Professor K found out he has Monday off too? We are very excited about this and have decided not to waste the weekend. We are going to spend a fall-filled weekend in Vermont!

I didn't think this would be possible again until the winter was fully upon us. My parents are having some work done on the place before ski season started and they told me it was starting this month. My mother called Monday night and told us the good news that it's open this coming weekend and we are welcome to go if we want. Yay! Fires, Bailey's, the peak weekend of foliage, movies, yummy dinners. It should be really great. We'll bring our lovely fuzzy ones and just r.e.l.a.x. This will be our first trip up since we moved, and the first time we won't have to pack the trunk with bags of dirty laundry.

Hunter has been ridiculously affectionate for the past week or so. Every night he needs lots of lots of lovey time. Last night Professor K and I were in separate rooms and Hunter went back and forth all night, curling up on one lap for about an hour and then switching rooms to hang out on the other lap.

The only time he's really been frustrating is in the morning. Bailey is not a morning dog and she only gets up reluctantly, when we say "go for WALK! go POTTY!" a number of times while jangling her leash.

First thing in the morning Hunter will creep up on Bailey and pounce on her head repeatedly. He's just playing - I think he's a morning kitty because he wants to play and tries to wake her up to get her to join him. But she just jumps out of her skin (fur?) a bunch of times, doing the freaked out dog dance in between us. It's very startling first thing in the morning.

Once she's up and has been out for her walk she's pretty enthusiastic about playing with him but the morning thing is a pain for us all. He's due for his neutering anytime now and I wonder what kind of impact that will have on his energy level. It usually mellows a cat out quite a bit but he's already really mellow so maybe we won't even notice a difference. Except for the missing fuzzy brown lumps.

1:34 p.m. - 2004-10-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones