Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

red red wine

I had a very entertaining evening last night. After a long, depressing day at work I arrived at home in a fairly good mood. I started cleaning a bit and quickly worked up a sweat.

Professor K came home late after an all-day job interview that helped him decide that he did not want to enter into that position. So he wasted a day, I had a bad day, and we were both in good moods for some reason.

We started drinking a yummy bottle of red wine that we had bought Sunday afternoon. It was a Beringer merlot and had a really strong spicy flavor to it, but was also smooth and rich going down. All I have to say is YU-UM.

I am a red wine addict and the Professor has gotten on board recently. It's so fun sharing my love of wine with someone who hasn't really explored it before. His parents are not really wine drinkers so when I choose a wine at a restaurant or at a liquor store I always explain why I'm selecting it, if I've had it before, the whole deal.

This weekend I had fun telling him to choose the wine from the store - he didn't want to screw up but I told him I would drink anything and letting him pick it would help him distinguish what made one bottle better than another.

I'm not some wine expert or anything but from my early teens my parents encouraged me to get involved in their private wine tastings. My dad would pour me two glasses of wine, two chardonnays or two merlots or two something, and then he would have me taste each. He would ask me which I liked better and why, what made them taste different. It made me feel like my opinion mattered even if my dad was just teaching me how to identify subtle differences in flavor.

So Kevin and I are drinking our wine and watching Shadow of the Vampire, one of my favorite movies to veg out to on a weekday. We watched about half before we ended up in the bedroom for a while.

After we were finished in there we decided to go get another bottle of wine since we had finished off the one from Sunday. We went to the liquor store, picked out two bottles, and went back home. We drank and finished the movie, and when it was over I decided to start biting Kevin.

I did a pretty realistic imitation of a vampire, it kind of freaked him out a bit but was fun. I encouraged him to bite me back and he really seemed to get into that. Again we ended up back in the bedroom for a long time and ultimately fell asleep there. We woke up at 2am with lights on and a dog that needed to go out so we took care of that and snuggled back into the covers. It has been relatively cool the last few nights which is a welcome relief.

The funny part about all the sex that was had last night is that it's almost as if me going off the pill makes us want to do it more. It's either me acting more normal or the thrill of knowing that we should really be using condoms. We start out using condoms but they suck and totally turn me off so we end up getting rid of them pretty quickly.

I'm currently taking the new pill I was prescribed so it should catch up in a few days anyway. We're not being too terrible, I was off the first pill for two days before I started the new one so I can't imagine there's much chance of me getting pregnant. Heh, famous last words right?

Basically last night was just really fun and spontaneous and felt more like a weekend than a weeknight. We didn't have any nights like that last week what with all the fighting and me being an irritable cunt so I think we needed some getting along time.

Tonight is another apartment viewing and we have a ton of cleaning to do for that. Then we stuff the cat into his bag, hide his litter box, grab Bailey and hop in the car. Drive around, get dinner, find something to keep us occuped for about a half an hour.

I'm all gassed up on coffee - a venti iced mocha with a shot of raspberry - and Starbucks coffee is like double the strength of Seattle's Best or Dunkin Donuts.

I keep getting emails from George, the guy I dated just before I met Professor K. A few weeks ago he emailed me out of the blue to see if I was still dating someone or if I was single. I told him I was still with someone and so we just exchanged a few "how you doing, what you been up to?" emails.

He said some really nice stuff about how he thought about me and felt like he had screwed things up with our potential relationship - mainly because we were supposed to go out a second time the week before I met Professor K but we decided to reschedule for the following week. By that time I had already met the Professor and I called George to tell him that I wanted to focus on this new guy. He was very understanding but I guess he felt like there was some potential there, which there really was since we have very similar interests and had a great time the one night we hung out.

I told Professor K the first time when George emailed me because he's all into honesty and stuff. Then yesterday I heard from George again and he's been emailing me this morning too. He's such a nice guy and he's totally harmless. I told Kevin last night that we had talked and he seems okay about it. I mean he's definitely jealous but doesn't really care as long as I keep him updated on what our emails say. It's kind of nice keeping in touch with George, I wouldn't mind being friends with him. He has a kid, an 8 year old son, so that was never a cool thing in terms of dating him. But he has potential to be a cool friend, and he has a lot of money apparently. He travels constantly. I like that, if I had money I would do that too.

10:23 a.m. - 2004-07-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones