Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

more thoughts and a (thankfully) missed phone call

Apparently she doesn't know about my decision, she's been trying to call me at work.

Yarg

Speculation of what she might want to say leading to intense distraction from work.

Must.

try.

to.

work.

Can't.

Paralyzed.

________________________________________

I watched the Nick Berg execution video this morning. I couldn't help myself, Mary told me where to find it and I downloaded it furiously. I googled him afterward and the video is actually all over the internet, if you're looking for it. I had no idea, I wouldn't have even thought to look for it if I hadn't been told exactly where to get it.

Now I feel sick. I was in the process of eating an omelet when I turned it on and the anticipation of seeing a beheading turned my stomach a bit for the first five minutes, and then the actual execution is so greusome it did the rest for me. Thank God the video is bad quality. I watched it over an hour ago but I'm still feeling disturbed.

Like I said I googled his name afterward and got a bunch of links to world news articles talking about his family's reaction, which were pretty sad to read. You can't (I couldn't) help thinking about Berg's family when I was watching the video - he looks like a pretty typical American, and it's hard to imagine how scary his final moments must have been.

The google search also got me a bunch of links to message boards and personal websites, and I have to say I was pretty weirded out by some of the stuff I read there. I understand the intense reactions to the video - it's horrible, there's really no way to argue that point. But these people, Americans, were saying things like "kill them (Arabs/Iraqis) all! they all want to do this to us, we should do it to them first" and things about how after seeing the video how could any American not support the war 100%. I find that logic faulty. There are about a million reasons why, but I don't want to get into it because my opinion is just as disturbing to the people who's words I am commenting on. I guess I'm a little bit shocked, that's all. Living in Massachusetts I'm surrounded by a particular brand of liberalism that I feel comfortable with. I forget that it's my environment that makes me think all Americans think like me, it's not reality.

Haha, also: LOVE LOVE LOVE that Miller Lite commercial where the host dude is talking about Americans voting for the President of Beers and he says "And Florida, press hard" HAHA! There should be more commercials like that! Last night, maybe I was overanalyzing, but I wondered if people in Florida were pissed off by that, or if they had that "our state got mentioned on the TV" pride. Or if they just don't play that commercial in Florida. Like it's a big secret for the other 49 states - "Shh, nobody tell Florida that Miller Lite is making fun of them!" But someone is bound to travel outside of Florida and view the commericial...and then there could be anarchy! Another civil war!

Speaking of which, my dad and I were talking about how liberal New England's views are when compared with the South and the Midwest. And how embarrassing it can be that we are represented by an administration that is so conservative and religious and right wing. We hypothesized that New England could secede from the U.S. and become part of Canada. I added to that thought by saying Bush could sell us to Canada, thereby making a bunch of money and being able to further finance his war. I know, terrible idea, we were just kidding. But to be honest, back in the gleefully idiotic Clinton years I never thought I'd see the day where the idea of becoming a Canadian would make me smile, even in jest.

10:46 a.m. - 2004-05-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones