Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

41 weeks

Because I have to get it out the universe somehow and I have no good outlet or go-to person: I am one week past my due date, and I am fine with that. I would like to meet my baby but there is nothing wrong with me, or her, and therefore I plan to just wait her out and let her come when she�s ready. This does not seem controversial.

And yet�

The Advice. Assvice? Induction questions. Suggestions. Yes I have tried walking. Yes I have tried spicy food. No I have not scheduled an induction. Why not? Because�well, why are you, my casual coworker, even ASKING me that question? But to answer it, as honestly as possible: because I do not want to, or more accurately, because WE do not want to.

What is wrong with waiting? What is wrong with being patient, taking a deep breath, and letting things happen on their own? I am being made to feel like I am to blame, like the world is waiting and I am letting it down. And in my feeling fine, sunny weather mood I can handle it�but every once in a while these 41-week-pregnant hormones rear up and I just want to cry, or ask �why are you attacking me?�, or beg people to stop making suggestions about what *I* could be doing differently. I so appreciate the nice, supportive things that some people say to me like �well, any day now!� or just a general �good luck!� The negativity, the accusations, they just don�t help.

Part of the problem is that I�m still going to work, and I work with a variety of people with different opinions who obviously feel they know me well enough to weigh in on what they see as a shared process. Usually I�m glad to still be working since the alternative would be sitting at home doing nothing, burning up leave time and feeling sorry for myself. Instead I get to get up every day, get dressed, put on makeup, and go out into the world. However, �the world� is getting less and less friendly and more and more judgmental.

It�s just one week. And I�m not afraid to say that I think this baby might want another week too.

12:52 p.m. - 2011-06-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones