Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Baby!

In case I didn't already tell the entire world - supposing that MySpace is the entire world - my family got some very exciting news this weekend. My older brother dun knocked up his wife, my delightful sister-in-law Kristin, and in May 2007 there will be a tiny baby joining us for wine drinking and pool during the holidays.

Babies can play pool, right?

I can't even begin to tell you how excited I am, how much of a shock it was, and all that jazz. I knew they would start trying eventually but I had no idea that they were, and to find out Kristin is already 12 weeks along was like, "Woah! THAT'S why you haven't taken a sip of your wine yet."

The announcement was great - Kevin couldn't be there on Friday night so I headed over to my folk's house to have dinner with my parents and J & K. Dad asked who wanted a glass of wine and four hands went up - my mom already had a green apple martini. We went into the living room to sit on the comfy couch and chairs and Jim raised his glass to propose a toast. Which is fairly normal, we're very toasty people, and also they were up from New York because of my grandparent's 60th wedding anniversary.

So he raises his glass and says, "Cheers" and then he kept his glass there and said, "And we have an announcement to make." and I think my dad said something like, "Okay" and we waited eagerly for the, "We're having a baby!" Kristin immediately put down her wine glass and said, "And I'm not drinking that" and I jumped up and hugged her, my mom and dad jumped up and we all took turns hugging and everyone had tears in their eyes. It was so cool.

There was a second announcement the following day at the Anniversary Party, where Jim got to toast to my Nana and Grampa and also inform them that their first great-grandchild was on the way. I cried a little bit again and everyone who didn't know was very excited.

This feels like such a big deal to me! I'm going to be an aunt to a little kid, someone who will be related to me. My brother is going to be an amazing dad, and Kristin will be a great mom. Not one of those annoyingly Fisher Price moms either, she'll be the kind of mom who stays a person after they have a baby.

They should find out in a month or two whether it's a boy or a girl. I can't believe how fun it's going to be to have a whole new generation added to the family.

7:30 p.m. - 2006-10-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones