Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Summer

Welp, I have another interview lined up at a new wonderful place. It'll either be tomorrow or next week, depending on my schedule. I'm not too keen on Friday interviews but I suppose I'd rather just get it over with so I can enjoy my weekend.


My beach weekend! The Professor and I are heading up to York Beach, Maine this weekend. I know, I know, Maine? Beach? How do these two words possibly go together? That's exactly what I thought too, when I first moved to New England. But I quickly found out that not only does the Maine coast have beeeyoootiful beaches, but you can also obtain a pretty devastating sunburn on them. Who knew?


I'm hoping to get in some romantic smoochy time while we're away from our house and our pets. For some reason I always have really high expectations for summer - beach! Sox games! cookouts! - and then I inevitably end up totally disappointed. I've realized it's because I'm still working all week, and I don't get that much-anticipated three month vacation from childhood. And no matter how well you pack your weekends with fun-filled summery activity, you still end up at your desk on Monday.


I'm trying to just accept that summer is kind of like your birthday - you expect the world, and often end up disappointed.


Well, that's how it is for me anyway.


BUT! The trip to Maine will be lovely, and then Labor Day weekend we head to Vermont. I'm glad we're smooshing in some trips before it's fall and I turn my attention to pumpkins and apple cider.


Does anyone else have any lovely summer plans? And don't let me hear, "Summer's practically over!" because that's just cruelty.

9:01 a.m. - 2006-08-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones