Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mother's Day

Mother�s Day was fun. I always enjoy Mother�s Day because a) I really love my mother, and b) it provides an opportunity to hang out with her and drink. My brother always handles the flowers aspect of the day, and that leaves me to provide the booze. Because nothing says, �I love you Mom!� like champagne and Black Cherry flavored vodka.

And this was less than 24 hours after I was carted out of the Sex Party on a stretcher, so talk about rallying!

I spent all afternoon at my folks place listening to music (Death Cab, Andrew Byrd, etc; my father is far cooler than I am), drinking bubbly and red wine, and hugging on my mom. I think we all had fun. Before I left we started watching Pulp Fiction, which my mom had never seen, but I had to leave about halfway into it because it was getting so late.

Bailey was not pleased to be peeled from their warm leather sofa, but we had to get back home in time to watch at least one more episode of Six Feet Under before bed.

Next weekend begins my Birthday Week Extravaganza, which means drinking a lot and cheating on my diet. Saturday, a full four days before the actual DAY, will be spent barhopping in Boston. Invited? Me, Professor K, Dad, and Mom. And anyone else that wants to hop with us, of course. Wednesday, the actual DAY, will be taken off of work so that my father and I can, in his words, �drink our lunches� somewhere nice. And after he gets home from work, the Professor will be taking me to this awesome restaurant, where the guacamole will flow like wine. And the margaritas will flow like wine. And I might drink some wine.

[Incidentally, anyone who saw me Saturday night now knows of the evils that befall a bowl of guacamole when it is left within two feet of me. Upon arriving at the Fiesta de Sexidad I immediately a)insulted Red�s noble Swedish heritage, followed by b)scoping out the guacamole and sitting as close to it as possible. I even leaned forward so my hand was never more than a few inches from the glorious greenness. Later, I refilled the empty bowl myself so I would feel less guilty about eating the whole damn thing. Which I proceeded to do. Again.]

So Mexican it is for my 26th and I can�t wait! The Saturday after my birthday we�re driving down to Long Island to visit my brother, my sister-in-law, and their lovely new house. I imagine there will be wine there as well, and I can only hope for guacamole.

I have an addiction people. And no, it�s not wine (cough). It starts with a �guaca� and ends with a �molay�.

Can�t.Get.Enough.

4:32 p.m. - 2006-05-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones