Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Little Blau

I had to take a sick day yesterday due to an unfortunate incident with a box of wine. I was struck down by the Cocktail Flu, and spent most of the day in bed.

I'm back at work today with my Giant Iced Coffee and my bacon. Not that my car didn't try to kill me on the way here.

I drive a Volkswagon and she has been very good to me. I have learned to accept her Check Engine light and it's constant attempts to freak me out when nothing is in fact WRONG with the car. I have lovingly had her oil changed long before 3,000 miles because of her shrieking oil light that terrifies me at the most inopportune moments. I even replace her washing fluid when that equally scary shrieking light and notification pop up.

But one thing my beautiful VW does not like is rain. When it rains for a few days in a row, her little engine gets all jiggly and her Check Engine light starts flashing. I've been told by other VW owners that this is normal, that VW's are essentially allergic to rain and must be coddled and tucked into safe, warm garages. Since I have no garage, when it rains I must suffer.

It has been raining for the last few days and that made my drive to work this morning very stressful. Little Blau (my car's name, it means "blue" in German) was chugging and shaking and flashing lights at me like crazy. By the time I got to my parking lot at work my whole body was vibrating. I hope that the ride home will be less anxiety-producing because it's hard to pay attention to Howard Stern when your car is trying to break down on you.

________________________________________

I have not spoken about my ex anymore because she and I have only exchanged a few nothing emails since our phone call. But her last email to me told me that I should ask her questions if I have them, and so I did.

On Monday morning I typed up a list of questions off the top of my head, all the stuff I had been wondering. In the interest of following some good advice, which was to not give her an inch, I requested that she fill in the blanks. And explain some of her more bizarre behavior from a year ago, some emails that she sent me, etc. I think I phrased the questions fairly and honestly, and I did say that she certainly didn't have to answer them. But I qualified that statement by pointing out that there isn't really any reason for us to be in touch if we're not going to have a friendship based on honesty.

I sent that email early Monday and as of today I haven't heard anything back. I'm curious to find out if she's going to respond. If she does, a lot more of the blanks should be filled in. If she doesn't, I guess she isn't ready to be that honest with me. But I feel good about getting my thoughts out there, because there are so many questions that I would like to have answered.

9:34 a.m. - 2006-05-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones