Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

MySpace

I had a MySpace awkward social encounter that I�m embarrassed by. And, I know, MySpace. It�s not even REAL interaction. But�it was still awkward.

A Girl I Went To High School With (AGIWTHSW) recently became a member. I noticed her new profile when I was looking at another alum�s profile. I also noticed that she had added every single other alum from our high school to her friend�s list...except me.

And I was all, �What? Why not ME? We were in the same CLIQUE in high school!� Literally that dramatically. I even emailed a fellow-alum and was all, �Why didn�t she friend me?�

My fellow-alum emailed me back to say that AGIWTHSW was coming up to her neck of the woods for a visit and that she�d try to figure out what the blatant oversight was all about.

Here we are, creeping into totally unnecessary territory already.

So yesterday morning I got both a request to be MySpace friends with AGIWTHSW, but also a message saying, basically, �Hey. I thought you would friend me but you didn�t so wanna be friends?�

And thus I am a total dumbass. Not because I never tried to friend her (I have to stop using the word �friend� as a verb), but because I barely spoke to this girl in high school. I have not spoken to her since high school, except at one wedding where we exchanged a few awkward words. And still I was all put out, much like a high school kid, by this one stupid thing.

I have a strong feeling that while AGIWTHSW was visiting with the other alums, alcohol and/or other substances became involved in the reunion and somehow, someway, the topic of my MySpace anxiety came up. Because really, how do you subtly ask why someone has not friended (I know) someone else on MySpace?

God, I am SUCH a loser.

10:02 a.m. - 2006-05-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones