Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Back to Work Whiney Pants

Tonight I might finally get around to fucking with the Aruba pictures. I really want to actually get them on the PC, not just leave them on the camera forever. Once they're up I can finally write my Happy Vacation Entry. This one: not so much happy as gripey. Forgive me, it's my second day back to work.

Sunday was a totally fucked up day, but I guess it was fun. We got back home after midnight on Saturday, spending the whole fucking day standing in lines, sitting on planes, and waiting. Grrr. Nothing kills a vacation buzz faster than airports.

But it was really nice to sleep in my own bed. Especially since my bed is in an actual bedroom where people don't wander in at 4 a.m. to make coffee. And walk around. And talk. And slam doors. [Oh wait, maybe I should save some of that for my Happy Vacation Entry?]

Sunday we got the pets back around 11 a.m. and spent some time, okay all day, rubbing them hello. I had a bowl of tuna and some biscuits ready when they came in the door. I missed Bailey so much over the week vacation - I think it was guilt about leaving her, anxiety about something happening to her while I was gone, the whole mindfuck of being away, you know? I'd find myself awake at 3 in the morning (I'm guessing, no clock) with my mind just RACING. This happens to me all the time at home but in Aruba there was no place for me to go to deal with it - no "other room" where I wouldn't disturb anyone. So I'd pop a lorazepam (thank the lord for those) and eventually fall back asleep.

Sunday afternoon was all about drinking beer. I figured it would be my last day of eating and drinking whatever I want so we ran through beer like crazy and got pretty wasted. We ended up having silly "fights" where we'd freak out and then be like, "Why did that happen?" It was obviously post-vacation blues starting to kick in, plus the alcohol, and we were both exhausted. We spent the day eating carbs and watching the rest of Season 1 of Lost and the last of Season 1 of Six Feet Under. We had TONS of sex, after basically not having any for a whole week. [Did I mention the living room situation? With his parents sleeping a few feet away? Yeah, not so much with the sex.]

Kevin ended up taking Monday off and I schlepped into work hungover. I'm glad I did though because even though I did like ZERO work I still got some idea of what horrors awaited me. Also two pieces of GOOD news: After two years and mucho, mucho anxiety I got my National Security Clearance! Which I'm REQUIRED to have to work where I do - but I've just been waiting for it to come in forever. It's been hanging over my head and it was another one of the reasons I deleted so much shit from this diary a few months back. Maybe now I can start putting it back in. Heh.

SECOND piece of good news is that my boss put in the paperwork for me to get a promotion. She thinks it will get approved since she already discussed it with her boss, and if it does then my paycheck will be fatter come April 1. I HOPE this goes through, my financial situation is not quite what it should be. And Professor K was so awesome all week long - he paid for so much shit, even taking me out to dinner at this awesome restaurant and buying me shitloads of drinks and...well, I'll get into that later. But he was so cool about it. I really need to start making more money so I don't become a burden or something.

So today is kind of better than yesterday - no hangover, back on the diet, work less EEEK scary.

This coming Saturday night we're going out to another fancypants restaurant in Boston because Monday the 27th is our TWO YEAR ANNIVERSARY!! I can't wait to celebrate it, even though it might be a tad bit anticlimactic after Aruba. But we toasted it a bunch while we were there and I'm sure we'll have a blast on Saturday night. We're going to a restaurant that I selected because it's a fondue and wine place, with over 600 wines to choose from and cheese and chocolate fondues. Yum! I'm sure I'll cheat on the diet then too but I think that's okay. My goal of being a size 10 before my birthday gives me almost exactly two months to do it, and I didn't gain that much back over my trip so I want to enjoy two years together as much as possible.

Alrighty, time to go cover the receptionist desk for lunch.

*Later: Oh so I guess it's obvious that Hunter came back, as expected. My parents called us Friday night (the 10th, before we left) and let us know that he was safely back in the house. I guess he got out a few more times while he was there but always returned. Smart boy, he always knows where the food is.

12:56 p.m. - 2006-03-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones