Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Lengthy Update

Things are looking much better in the colon department.

I had no idea that discussing my bathroom issues would result in so many comments! I will have to keep that in mind.

Unfortunately I don't usually have bathroom problems so that may impact the number of entries I write about that subject.

Moving on.

I had a lovely lunch with my father yesterday. He was cute and funny and dressed in a lovely blue sweater that still had Bailey hair clinging to it, despite the fact that I recovered her from his care on Monday night. Her fur is nothing if not persistent.

We were our typical hysterically charming selves and he paid for my salad and my bottle of water, which was very nice. He also asked about my bathroom problem, which caused me to wonder if maybe I don't tell people way too much information?

Oh well.

Work has been very good this week, or maybe I have been very good. I think it may directly relate to the fact that I have ceased drinking altogether (except for a tiny slip on Saturday night when I was asked the question, "beer or wine?" and heard myself responding "wine". I only had two glasses, though, and that is very very good for me) since Sunday the 29th. That means I have not had a hangover at work in over a week and that is pretty atypical of my work week.

I'm amazed at the increase in productivity when one is not slumped over, sweaty and pained, all day long.

I have a drinking problem. Seriously. Maybe you had already thought so?

Luckily it's the kind of drinking problem where I can say, "Hey! Stop drinking, moron!" and I stop. Versus the whole straightjacket, detox, 12-step kind of drinking problem.

I am more and more hesitant to post MySpace surveys due to the increase in my number of "buddies" or "friends" or whatever they are on MySpace. Recently I have added Professor K himself, who is temporarily (I hope) MySpace obsessed (check out his profile, if you DARE), and his little brother, one of his friends, etc. I do not want to post a bulletin in which the question is "My past is..." and I answer "SORDID! LOL! LMAO!" Because no.

There isn't much going on right now other than the countdown to Aruba. ("It's the final countdown!") I turned down an invitation to spend the weekend visiting my brother and SIL at their new house over President's weekend because me in New York = me spending money I need for Aruba. And I feel guilty as hell about, for no good reason. Why do I feel guilty about that?

Hunter is miserable to have Bailey back after being Only Pet for a weekend. I thought he missed her but it turns out he actually HATES her or something along those lines (jealousy?) because ever since her return he has been high strung and petulant. I feel sad for him but I am a dreadful parent and I will always cater to my Easter ham. However when I woke up this morning Hunter was sleeping on Kevin's chest so I assume he gets all the affection that he needs from his father.

This past weekend we drove down to Connecticut to visit with Kevin's sister and new husband. They live one town over from the town I spent my first ten years and they were kind enough to drive by my childhood house.

It was a very surreal experience as I haven't been back to that neighborhood in something like 13 years. The house had been painted a new color, which I actually liked, but our pretty wooden fence (that matched the house back in the 80's) had been replaced with chain link. And the yard was totally overgrown and slightly scary. Still, it was very nice to go back. And what a small world that Kevin's sister lives where I spent my childhood!

I think his sister likes me, she definitely seems to, and her husband gave me a hug when we left and he doesn't touch ANYONE. We've been invited to join them this summer on their new boat and that tickles me because when people ask what we're doing this summer we can say "boating" or something like "we'll be taking the boat out to the Vineyard for the weekend". I haven't worked out all the details of my awesome answers yet so wait a few weeks to ask me what I'm doing this summer, okay?

Valentine's Day is coming up next Tuesday, maybe you've noticed?, which is also the one year anniversary of Professor K quitting his job. He is now two jobs later, loving his new place and they are loving him. He is only hearing good things and getting encouragement and looking forward to monetary motivation. It makes me very happy as up until this job the only constant with him and work was that he hated it. Now he is feeling successful and appreciated and that really goes a long way.

I hate to jinx it but this may be a really good year for us.

*Editor's Note: If you are looking at my current page, which you must be if you are currently reading this, look at my list of "other diaries". Do you see that cute one at the bottom that says "ProfessorK"? Yes! You do! Because Professor K himself has signed up for a diaryland diary. He has not written an entry yet, nor are his notes turned on (cause I'd be harassing him to death, poor boy) but someday there may well be an entry from the very famous, very cute, Professor K. I leave you on the edges of your seat.

1:18 p.m. - 2006-02-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones