Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More from Monday

Samantha Snickers September 11, 1990 - December 19, 2005

Okay, time to write an entry. I'm all full of feelings today, for obvious reasons. And not so obvious reasons.

Hi! I haven't been updating!

Issue one: My parents dropped little Sam off at the vet this morning and didn't stay for the ... procedure? What's a tasteful way of putting it? And the thing that keeps running through my head is... is she still alive? Do they put the dog in question in a cage and take care of her when they GET to it, or do they do it right away? Is it awful to be wondering that? I'm just hoping they do it right away, the thought of her having to spend several hours in a little cage at her most hated of places right before , you know, the procedure...that makes me feel sick. Not that I blame my parents one bit - I can only imagine the emotional tsunami that would have resulted from sticking around for the last little doggie breath.

Sadly, or perhaps ironically, this Wednesday is Bailey's birthday. (You know, my dog, Bailey? Have I mentioned her in this diary? Have I? Ever?) She'll be a big old four year old girl. (How is she four? How is that even possible?)And Friday is her birthday party - attended annually by myself, my mother and father, and Professor K. And Hunter too, but he has no choice.

Well actually no one else does either, it's pretty much a mandatory event. Bailey opens presents (um, I do that) and we give her food of all sorts and generally pet her and love her and call her pretty.

Which...now that I think about it...is basically a normal day in her life. BUT! The presents are WRAPPED in BIRTHDAY THEMED wrapping paper. {Four days later she gets presents wrapped in CHRISTMAS THEMED paper. Woo!)

I'm feeling guilty about the impending dog celebration, knowing that my mother will be still fresh from her loss. Not that it is just her loss but it will be most significant for her, as Sam was her little sidekick. I will offer to call off the party when I see my parents tonight but they will say no.

Also, Bailey is spending Christmas Eve and Day with my parents. Since I will be in Maine with the Family O' the Professor, she needs to be babysat. I can only hope that it will be GOOD for my mother to have an alternate dog around. And not, you know, a constant reminder of her loss.

The loss of a dog is a big deal to me, what can I say?

I had a few other thoughts from this weekend to write about. I will number them. Actually they're not so much thoughts as Things That Happened, but still. It's not about dog death and that's a good thing, right?

Saturday Professor K and I went out on a date. We went to dinner first and sat in the Best Booth Ever because it was right next to the Unhappiest Couple Ever. I had the side that could hear them and kept making wide Oh My God eyes at the Professor. Mostly I could only hear the woman, and she sucked me into their conversation with this comment,"SHUT THE FUCK UP, that's MY FAMILY you're talking about". Spoken with dripping, bitter hatred.

Ooh!

My initial guess was that they were a married couple whose marriage had passed its expiration date.

Until...

"I EXPECTED that we would be ENGAGED by now."

!!! Not even married yet and she already hates him that much!

Followed by, "I'm not even MARRIED so you could LEAVE ME at ANY TIME."

Guy: mumble mumble mumble (I'm guessing something like, Baby I'm not going to leave you) Her: "The only reason you haven't left me is because you're so LAZY and BORING"

Me: !

The woman continued to ream her boyfriend for the rest of their dinner, all because he hadn't proposed to her yet, and I continued to listen in. I was hoping for specifics - how long had they been together, how old were they, etc. I knew they lived together because she said something about it (a version of Why Buy the Cow), but I wanted to see what it was that made her so ANGRY. And seriously, if you hated your boyfriend that much why would you even WANT to marry him?

The conversation was funny to listen to, and sad, but oh my GOD it made me feel so lucky to be me and Professor K and not Evil Lady and her Sad Boyfriend. I can't imagine the day where one of us would even think of saying "Shut the fuck up" to the other one, but I think that might be a warning signal that the end of us was near.

Okay, so after dinner we went to see King Kong, which I've been excited to see. The movie was good, not quite as good as maybe I expected it to be, but I can't really do it justice because of the DISTRACTIONS.

Right before the movie started a couple of teenage boys entered the theater and sat two rows behind us. And immediately I turned to the Professor and said, "Great". Because they DID NOT STOP TALKING THE WHOLE MOVIE. And they didn't even PRETEND to lower their voices from normal volume. AND one of them thought it would be really funny to randomly shout things out - PENIS! FALLOPIAN TUBE! And then they'd giggle. And the whole theater would collectively wish them dead.

A few SHHH's were shhed, a few angry turned heads were turned, but nobody really took it upon themself to do anything about it. And the sad part was that probably everyone wanted to, but who knows what could happen in a dark movie theater these days. Didn't someone just get SHOT in one or something? And so we all sat there gritting our teeth, TRYING to follow the movie, and hating them with all the hatiest hatred in the world.

But the awesome part was toward the very end of the (very long) movie. The Yelling Kid started really stepping up his random outbursts to the point where it became ridiculous that no one was slapping him. One young girl yelled "grow up!" to which Yelling Kid responded "Suck my Dick" to which an old dude yelled "Shut up Asshole". But THEN... the Mominator got involved. A middle-aged, thin, blond woman got up and just walked right the fuck over to the row those kids were sitting, got right in their faces with her pointed finger, and reamed the shit out of them. No foul language, no yelling, she just put them in their place.

About five minutes later the theater security came and kicked them out of the movie, but those kids hadn't said a word since the Mominator kicked their asses.

12:03 p.m. - 2005-12-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones