Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wrong Sides

Last night Professor K and I slept on each others' side of the bed. Or the wrong sides of the bed, however you want to put it.

Normally I sleep on the right side, which is tucked neatly between my side table and the window, and he sleeps on the left side right next to the bedroom door. We've slept like that our whole relationship, really. Mainly because when I had my queen all to myself I always leaned toward the right, and he naturally filled in the biggest empty spot when he joined me and Bailey.

It was unbelieveable how much switching sleep sides affected my night's sleep! I woke up what felt like hundreds of times - the mattress felt weirdly hard, the dog was on the wrong side of me and therefore was more distracting, and I was too far away to read the comforting orange numbers on the clock.

Then there were the nightmares.

I had this horrible dream in what felt like the middle of the night. I was spending the Christmas holidays in a strange house, a house that belonged to friends of my family, and Kevin was not there. The room that I stayed in had a big bed that I had all to myself. And somehow I was both in that strange bed and also at a hospital.

At the hospital I saw this man. He had on a blue shirt, he was Caucasian, and he had brown hair and brown eyes. Terror was the only thing I felt when I saw him, I just KNEW that he was crazy, psychotic, and that he was going to at least try to kill me. I was so sure of it that I grabbed a nurse and she and I went into an operating room with many windows and I was screaming that that man was crazy and she saw him and agreed with me. She called someone, but that must not have helped.

Because all of a sudden I was back in the strange bed, alone, and I was so terrified that I couldn't think straight or move. He was there. I knew it, and I didn't know how to help myself.

And in real life, this dream kept changing and morphing because I kept waking up. The change in my perspective on the room made the dream seem more real - the orange glow from the new Christmas lights was eery, my proximity to the door was new, and for some reason I couldn't seem to find Professor K in the bed. I could hear him, but I couldn't find him.

I almost woke him up and asked if we could switch sides again. I was so scared to be that close to the bedroom door, thinking about the man from my dreams coming through it. I knew I would die of a heart attack before he could ever kill me.

Lying in bed, paralyzed with fear, is the worst way to spend a Tuesday night. Tonight I think we'll be on our own sides.

10:59 p.m. - 2005-12-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones