Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pumpkin Cheesecake: The Conclusion

I think our receptionist just stole my AA batteries.

She asked if she could borrow my wireless mouse because the AA batteries in her wireless mouse had just died. It was kind of an emergency because she needed to minimize whatever work-inappropriate thing she was viewing when it happened. I could relate.

I gave her my freshly batteried mouse and she brought it back a minute later after I was distracted by an employee.

Now my mouse is all wonky! I keep having to click the green reset button on the bottom to make it point and click. Bad receptionist! Mean!

Eh, whatevs. She said my cheesecake was really good so I will lurv her forever.

Excellent segue: the pumpkin cheesecake went over very well. I liked it and I'm not a huge fan of cheesecake to begin with. My coworkers all seemed to think it tasted really good, one guy in particular who asked for a second piece. Yay successful cheesecake! Oh how I will bake you and decorate you next week.

The weird thing about bringing in baked goods to work is the reaction.

"You made that?"

"Yes"

"Like, from scratch?"

"Yes"

"Really?"

Like no one in the history of the world has ever spent twenty minutes beating ingredients in a bowl and then shoving them in the oven. How hard is it to follow a recipe? I get that people don't care or don't like to cook so they don't, no big deal. It's the idea that it's really hard or time consuming that I don't get.

The one bizarre part about encouraging coworkers to eat your homemade food items is the food insecurity you get that they will not like them.

My mother has always had this habit of apologizing for any food that she has made right before we start eating. We all have always been shocked, teasing her with comments like, "Oh I'm sure it sucks!" Because we are assholes. But also because we think she is the greatest cook EVER and can't understand her feelings.

Now I totally get it. I find myself watching peoples' plates to make sure they're eating at a normal pace and not more slowly than they should be. I ask, "What do you think?" and then blush. I eat more of the food than I should to encourage others to eat more.

Am I the only one who gets like that when I cook for people?

3:51 p.m. - 2005-11-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones