Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hurricane Christopher

I just finally [FINALLY!} got an email back from my friend Chris, who is a police officer in New Orleans. I was worried about him since he works for the city and unlike my friends who are students would not have been evacuated.

I'll share his email because I thought it was interesting to hear what he's been up to. Short and sweet.

"Hey Carly,

I am still in New Orleans working pretty much non-stop. The hurricane came and went and I was stranded in a building with the rest of my police district for a couple days due to the flood waters.

After we were picked up by boat, we stayed in Baton Rouge for a week or so, commuting every day to work 12 hours in the city. Right now I am staying on a cruise ship, while I wait for power to be restored to the rest of the city. The flood waters only went as far south as st charles avenue and my apartment and car are undamaged. Other than being tired from the long hours I am doing fine.

I will tell you in more detail about the whole hurricane experience when I get a chance, but I haven't been able to really use my phone or the internet the last two weeks.

Talk to you soon.

-Chris"

I'm so glad to know he's alright.

4:56 p.m. - 2005-09-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones