Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Good Monday Morning

Wow, I woke up in the best mood this morning. All rested and relaxed from a weekend of no obligations, no stress, and no ugly landlord.

Friday Professor K called me from home around 5. I was just about to leave work and head home and he told me that not only was the landlord home, not away as we had hoped, but he was throwing a ginormous birthday part for one of his children. So in addition to the two normal screaming children there were hundreds more. There were also balloons, a big bouncy thing, and cars parked in all of the available parking spots on our street. I said, half in exasperation, "Well, my folks are away this weekend, we could always spend the weekend at their house".

Famous last words. Professor K packed overnight crap in a matter of minutes and I drove right from work to my folks house. I made a brief call to them to get the okay, which of course I did, and by 6:15 we were "on vacation". We had 24 beers, guacamole, tiramisu, and some other party favors. We stayed until Sunday morning and it was relaxing, hot, and quiet.

Sunday we left early so we could spend the day at home. And the landlord was gone all day - and is still gone as of this morning! Heaven. We're praying for a week-long trip.

We spent yesterday on our deck drinking beer. I had the brilliant idea of pulling our bedroom TV through the window and watching the Sox game on the deck so it felt like we were at Fenway. It was a lot of fun - sweating, eating hot dogs, and watching us beat the Phillies. What an amazing game, by the way.

This is a short week for me - I took Friday off and Monday is a holiday, so four-day weekend! Happiness. Also, nothing makes me happier and more relaxed than HEAT. I couldn't stop smiling yesterday and I slept so well last night.

I reconnected with an old friend from college last night. Sophomore year of college there were a few great months where I traveled in a foursome of girls. El, the girl I found on Friendster, was one of the four. Another was my ex, and the last was a girl that we cut out of the clique shortly after we discovered that she was a thief, a liar, and a drama queen.

So El and my ex and I remained friends all through college. El was there for the "we're not just friends" reveal that my ex and I subjected her to. She was the person we celebrated Mardi Gras with every year. And I haven't spoken to El in forever - not since 2002 probably.

El's first email to me mentioned my ex a few times. Apparently the ex (god I need to make up a name for her...how about Brittany?) Okay so El has been in contact with Brittany a lot lately because Brittany is going through a "tough time", and also Brittany has been asking El tons of questions about me, even though El and I haven't spoken in years.

I couldn't help but think that it was sort of strange that all of sudden El joined Friendster during the same month that Brittany is trying to get into contact with me. I mean I've searched Friendster for El a million times but this month she joined. Is that paranoid?

I wrote El back using my normal email address, not the special Brittany address, and I explained that I was really happy to be in contact with her again but please don't share anything I say with Brittany. I didn't go nuts explaining why, I just said that while we were good friends for years we were also a lot more and that "lot more" is what prevented me from being able to have her in my life. I hope El can relate to that.

I'm not overly worried about it, it's just in my head that Brittany is trying to force communication with me and El just might be the perfect way to do it. Oh well, I guess we'll see. If I start getting emails from Brit to my normal email address I'll know what's up.

El and I will talk on the phone soon and hopefully that will give me the opportunity to clear up any confusion she has about what's gone on between me and Brit.

[I love that I picked Brittany to be my ex's fake name. It is so perfect because she would be so mad if she knew, but it actually nicknames similarly to her nickname so I'm not stumbling over it.]

God this entry sucks and I'm just rambling. I know all the Brittany angst is old and tired, I should just stop writing about it. But I don't want to so there. I do not understand why it has all blown up all of a sudden this spring. Ever since my "should I write to her on her bday?" thing she's been a regular part of this diary. It must be the spring and summer - they just bring all the drama and passion and pyschosis right out of the woodwork.

10:07 a.m. - 2005-06-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones