Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Random Items

I'm getting out of here early today - at 2 - and I have a billion and one things to talk about. None of them interesting of course.

For starters there's the yumtastic food creation that I ate multiple times this weekend. Check this out: slices of toasted pepper jack bread (Whole Foods), slathered in onion cream cheese (Whole Foods), with a layer of smushed organic avocado (Whole Foods) softened with lime juice and some finely chopped jalapeno and a bit of salt & pepper, topped with diced Roma tomatoes (Whole Foods) that have been marinated in Spanish olive oil and s & p. OH. MY. GOD. I have one avocado left - guess what I'm having for post-2 PM lunch?

For seconders (hee!) there are the Green Monster seat tickets that were purchased for the May 7th game. Not purchased by me but FOR me. Green Monster seats! Do I have to tell you how much I'm looking forward to that?

For thirds, I saw a couple walking their two cats yesterday. Coming around the corner I thought they were small, thin dogs - maybe Italian Greyhounds. As we got close I pulled my dog out into the street a bit because she can be growly to other dogs and the man said "Oh don't worry, she's fine", referring to his own "dog". I said, "Oh well mine can be a little skittish", and then I looked at his "dog" and it looked a lot like a cat. So I asked, stupidly, "Is that a cat or a dog?" And he and his woman said "Cat!" very brightly. I said, "Oh how cute!" But I'm thinking, why did you say your cat would be fine around my dog? Despite the leash I think Bailey could have figured out they were walking a cat and done her typical dog-seeing-a-cat freak out. It was funny, nonetheless.

On this same walk an old man brought his elderly, rusty poodle over to sniff Bailey. The old man said to me,"What a nice, clean-looking dog you have!" And I smiled. I had just given Bailey a bath the night before. She is softer than ever and smells like puppy shampoo.

Bailey does not like to be bathed. She collapsed in a heap when she figured out what I was planning. I had to lift her heavy hammish body into the bathtub while she pretended she was dead. The new showerhead rocks for cleaning her - the rainfall thing is detachable and I could use it down at her level. Still she looked pretty miserable. I gave her snacks afterward hoping she would forget.

I felt kind of creepy when I was bathing her. Not the normal parts but when I washed her back end. I had just downloaded a video clip of a woman having sex with a small horse and it wouldn't get out of my head. I didn't mean to watch it, I just thought there was no way it could really be what it said it was. It really could be. Anyway, I felt creepy cleaning Bailey's delicate bits because I kept thinking, "someone sick would be getting off on this." Luckily I am not sick and she did not look troubled by my cleaning. By the way the woman seemed to be having a bad time with the horse. But I felt bad for the horse more than anything.

I have decided that my favorite spelling error to read is when the word "definitely" is misspelled as "defiantly". It's just so awesome.

I danced on Saturday. Alone in my office with the blinds shut and the computer volume cranked up, I danced.

I watched Absolutely Fabulous for hours on Saturday afternoon. It had been far too long. Patsy!

Mary is back today. She worked last Tuesday but then took the rest of the week off for "dental problems". Almost two full weeks off. She told someone else, not me, that her tooth fell out. That does not surprise me. This woman's breath makes people visibly flinch. Seriously.

For some reason it felt like a three-day weekend and I am in very good spirits today. Spring is still such a surprise every time I step outside. Even the rainy days are beautiful, the smell of wet mulch is very appealing. The tree in front of our house budded crazy fast and now has pseudo-leaves on it. And the apple blossoms! One day I want a yard that has apple trees and weeping cherries so that for a few days every spring the yard will be dominated by delicate pink petals.

Enough from me. How was your weekend?

12:08 p.m. - 2005-04-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones