Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Longass Entry About Sunny Days

My turn to update! Me! Me!

Yet another New England blogger who absolutely has to wax poetic about the weather. GAH! Sunny and warm at the same time!

Yesterday I had shudders of glee and had this thought: we suffer through the harsh, long winters and that makes these days so much more precious and special than if they were handed to us in fistfulls. I took every beautiful sunny day for granted until I moved to Massachusetts. Now it is impossible to do that. Every time we have a sunny day Professor K says "See? ANOTHER sunny day in Boston." So far he has said that about three times. *laugh*

What a great weekend! Saturday we roadtripped up to Maine to see Professor K's alma mater. And it was in ScaryWeird, Maine so we had many many hysterical laughs.

At first it was creepy and depressing because his college is like, hmmm, dead quiet and I said "where are all the students?" and he said, "It's always like this" and I felt sad. Judgemental thought number one of that day: what a terribly not-fun place to go to college!

However the day was beatiful and warm and we saw college girls sunbathing in bikinis! They were three of the only human beings we saw on campus. Sadly the gift shoppe was closed (grrr) and I came home with zero souveneirs. I never saw any zombies either although I expected to.

We were only on campus for about an hour, maybe less, because it is that small. We then drove to the BRAND NEW APPLEBEE'S, which I was almost forced to take a picture of due to its NEWNESS, as in "That wasn't there when we went to school here! OH MY GOD! We had to eat at WENDY'S and TOM'S PIZZA SHACK!" If that gives you any idea of what his college years were like...Anyway, I'll jump off my party-college-snob horse and move on.

Applebee's was about to be fun - cold Miller Lite and Buffalo wings - but as we were walking to our table Professor K caught the attention of an old man. He was wearing a shirt I bought for him at Old Navy for like five bucks - it's got a big shamrock on it and it says Ireland. So this old guy with a googly weird eyelid problem going on grabs him - literally shoots his arm out and locks onto his arm - and yells, "ARE YOU FROM IRELAND??" and the Professor says no and we sit down and the guy turns around to us and goes on and on about how he thought we might speak Gaelic and how he knows some Gaelic because his grandmother used to speak it and he knows all the swear words because she would swear when her bathtub gin exploded and ...

Meanwhile I'm staring at my menu thinking "eww, your eye is gross" and the Professor is nodding uncomfortably. The waitress attempted to take our drink order but couldn't because Crazy McOldypants wouldn't shut up. Finally he turned around, only to turn back around again every few minutes to tell us another anecdote, clutching at Professor K's shoulder all the while, or to teach us a word in Gaelic.

He left after teaching us the Gaelic word for take it easy: Tangoray or something. We were like "Tangueray" Cause it's gin. Yeah. We're clever like that. So he left. Only to clear the path of eyecontact to the overweight biker couple drinking Jim Beam and water, "light on the water", at the next table over. Luckily we were almost done by then and could leave.

We ventured to Big Lots because I wanted to look at their patio tables and chairs. Big Lots was possibly the funniest part of the trip in that the sheer dustiness of the merchandise addled our brains to the point where we could barely communicate in English.

We also saw a he she - a "woman" who was short and overweight, wearing a pink velour warmup outfit, had long very very black hair pulled up in a half-ponytail, and had five o'clock shadow and the facial features of a truck driver.

"She" walked by a young kid, maybe 12 years old, and the kid's face was priceless. But by far the funniest moment was when we were perusing the furniture and saw a coffee table that had no table. It was just legs and then big holes. I had to bend over and put my hands on my knees and gasp and snort and bray. We dragged a whole empty cart all around the store and then abandoned it and left.

Once in the parking lot we lost it completely and just kept snorting, "Do you speak Gaelic?" and then braying with laughter, grabbing our sides and wiping tears.

We decided to venture across the street to the Super Walmart since that was apparently the big hangout for the Professor and his buddies back in the day. We walked the aisles holding hands, still weak with laughter, and as he walked by the sunglasses someone shrieked,"PROFESSOR K??!!!!" and attacked him.

It was a girl he went to college with, Sarah something, and she seemed very excited to see him. We talked briefly but she had to go meet her boyfriend. Before she left she gave us her cell number and told us to call her the next time we were up. We might as well have thrown the number away after she said that because we both agreed our next visit would be under duress.

We got to head down to York Beach after we were done at Walmart, back to where the normal people live. Or more precisely, the Parents O' Professor K. On the way back to the highway we saw many, many cars and vans for sale in people's yards, we saw a roof house - it was just a roof, it looked like a whole big house had just sunk into the ground, and the gentlemen's club Platinum Plus. I wanted to go in but we decided not to.

We tried to find the topless donut shop that used to be around as well but we couldn't so finally were back on the highway. And on the way there we laughed about the same things over and over again, getting more giddy and hysterical with every minute. My final conclusion of his college town - it reminded me very very much of Indiana.

It was a very long day in all as we stopped at his folks house for a few hours and then had to stop at my parents' house on the way home to pick up our Bailey. I asked them to dogsit since I knew we would be gone so long. And when we got to my folks house she was asleep so on the ride home she was just nodding off in the backseat and looking adorable and fuzzy.

Sunday was beautiful weather and baseball! I have many pictures and will post them sometime soon. The day was perfect - before we left we took Bailey on a forty-five minute walk. The only other normal people that live on our street (besides us) were being all cute and we oohed and awwed at them. The man was fixing the door to their condo/duplex and the woman was outside on a blanket with their baby boy. The baby was wearing a teensy Red Sox hat. We felt equally cute in our Red Sox outfits walking our adorably hammish dog.

After the walk we left the pets and took the T in to Kenmore. The game was awesome and they won. And singing Sweet Caroline was so fun, it's always most fun the first time of the season, and we kept at it once the record stopped and then cheered for ourselves and our beautiful singing. Fenway Franks were eaten and mustard was spilled.

Once it was all over we stayed at Fenway and watched the place clear while jigging to Dirty Water and Tessie. Then we walked down to the field and watched the little little kids run the bases. It was fun being in the park after it was almost empty - we could walk all the way around it and take pictures from every angle. Professor K ran into a friend of his who works security and was invited to email him to try and get recommended for the job. Fenway Park security! We left and had beers and nachos and cheesy fries around the corner and people watched. It was so much fun, a perfect day.

Yesterday was Professor K's first day of work and I had it off and that was awesome. He ventured off at 7:30 and I slept until 10. Bailey and I snuggled close under the covers and then I took her for a nice walk in the warm sun wearing no bra and the Professor's slippers. Awesome.

I finally opened season 1 of Dead Like Me, which my brother gave me for Christmas, and ended up watching episodes all day long. I took Bailey out several times to enjoy the sun and opened all the blinds and windows very wide. I kicked Hunter out of the house to roll around in the grass and had girl time with Bailey.

Eventually I showered and ventured to the grocery store to buy fixins for the Professor's special First Day of Work supper. I made him my yummy chicken dish and some macaroni and cheese and grilled asparagus. I bought him a tiny heart-shaped Carvel cake too and he liked that. I am best girlfriend!

He went out drinking with a friend after that and I got the house to myself and it was blissfully perfect after dark - it felt like June with the windows wide open and breezes flowing through the bedroom as I did a crossword puzzle, drank a glass of wine, and watch Dead Like Me. I held Bailey and she snored contentedly. When Professor K arrived home I drew all over him with my pen and then we went to sleep.

More, much more, later. I have to tell you about Mary's return and her pussy blister.

1:53 p.m. - 2005-04-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones