Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Food Snobbery

Professor K starts his new job on Monday, which is a holiday for me. He will be making an eensy bit more money than he was in his old evil job, and the place he's going rocks. I was offered a job there over a year ago and I seriously would have taken it if not for the sudden offer of more money from my current employer. But one of his good friends from college already works there and it's a young environment and should be a good fit. I'm very happy for him and for us - dual income again!

To celebrate he bought us a new shower head, one of those giant rainfall ones. It's really nice. And last night he took me out to dinner and we had fun stuffing ourselves with Venezuelan yum yums.

We sat next to two extremely flamboyant homosexual men. For the most part we were wrapped up in our own thing but it's a tiny little restaurant so difficult not to catch snippets of neighboring conversations. Especially if they're being loud.

This one guy, the older one with well groomed slightly-graying facial hair and a small hoop in his ear, was apparently a regular. As am I, I go to this restaurant at least once a month, I know the chef, and have tried almost everything on the menu. But this GUY, he was acting like he owned the place and raving about everything on the menu to the man he was with, who had clearly never been there. He was being all specific about the flavors and saying things like, "That's a very real dish."

And, okay, I like food too and I respect people who take it seriously and enjoy different flavors. But both our table and his ordered the same appetizer - the mussels. They are delicious and come in a huge pot with this unbelieveable broth and bread for dipping. And our table ate our yummy mussels and said things like "Mmmmm, these are so good!"

His table said other things about their mussels, things like "The delicate blending of cilantro, garlic, and white wine compliments the sublime sweetness of each succulent morsel." And on and on and on with the comments, to the point where even after their entrees had come they had to say, "Well, I believe I was done in by the fabulousness of the mussels."

As amusing as it was to overhear this garbage I kept thinking, "So, does all that talking mean that they liked the mussels more than I did?" Cause I thought they were pretty fucking good and I get them every time we go there. But I didn't make a whole song and dance out of it.

Basically I think food snobbery is pretty fucking annoying. Also wine snobbery. And personally I'm a wine lover who knows a thing or two about it. But still I don't want to hear someone wax poetic about a glass of wine like it's an orgasm.

Although, to immediately contradict myself, I did totally agree with the part in Sideways when the blond woman talks about how she sees wine as a living thing, that it changes over time and can be an entirely different bottle if you open it a day earlier or a day later. So yeah.

10:55 a.m. - 2005-04-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones