Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Vermont Afterglow

I'm all googly and happy to be back at work. Which is, I know, ridiculous. But also true.

I had so much fun in Vermont! And we did practically nothing, just a lot of laying around and burning things and drinking. It was the perfect winter-won't-end vacation.

Professor K and I were just so perfect and compatible. We were both blown away that we could spend so much time together, trapped in a condo with a blizzard raging, and not get sick of each other. We're best friends.

*smile*

The pets were so good. They were relaxed and snuggly and well behaved. That is always a good thing. I have tons of pictures of our trip, some of them un-postable, but I will post some later tonight. Hunter figured out that he really liked the fireplace and spent a lot of time sleeping in front of it. After many drinks I concluded that he was dead and went over to make sure. He wasn't dead. In case you were wondering.

It snowed almost the entire time we were there, long days of nothing but snow. It was romantic and snuggly. Thursday and Monday were really sunny beautiful days in contrast to all the precipitation. It must have been 40 degrees when we left on Monday and the snow was melting fast. It was so nice to be home last night even if I had to get up and go to work this morning.

I woke up really early this morning thinking about work, my car, and my landlord. I needed to go get an oil change so I got up so that I could be at Jiffy Lube by 7:30. Unfortunately my landlord wasn't up so I had to call him and wake him up to get my car out of the back of the driveway. I got to Jiffy Lube and they were closed despite a sign that insisted they open at 7. I did get to work really early which was nice because I had a presentation to do almost first thing.

Now all the bad part of the day is over and I can hopefully coast through the rest. I smell so good today - my shampoo is wonderful, it's Biolage and I love it.

Last week I received an invitation to a baby shower in the mail and it had my name on the front and my address, hand printed, but when I opened the envelope I had no idea who the person was. I literally went "WHO?" And I just kept staring at it until I concluded that it was some kind of mistake. I decided to use my brain after that I thought "who do I know who's pregnant?" and it finally came to me: Professor K's cousin!

I am shamelessly happy and touched that she decided to include me on the guest list. I have heard from Professor K's parents that she really liked me and couldn't stop talking about how nice I was after Christmas party. But still, it makes me feel really good to be treated as family. Cause what am I really? The girlfriend of his cousin? I am definitely going. Professor K was really surprised, in a good way, that I had been invited. He said something like "Nobody in my family has ever liked my girlfriend before."

And speaking of his exes we had a conversation about how he proposed to his ex-fiance. And it left me in absolute stitches. I felt terrible but I couldn't stop laughing.

First of all, he did it at the 99. Which, in case you aren't familiar, is basically a TGI Fridays/Chili's/Bennigans type place.

Second, their table was right by the kitchen so when he got down on his knee to get "into position" a waitress came out of the kitchen and completely tripped over him and almost dropped the food she was carrying. At that point he decided to sit across from her instead of kneeling. Professor K confessed that he didn't even want to propose at that time, he had planned to ask later that night, but she kept hounding him for the ring and he finally did it "to shut her up". Ha!

The whole conversation started when we were watching an episode of Second Chance, a stupid TLC show. This girl and guy were meeting up after being apart for a while and it took place in New Orleans and I yelled "that's New Orleans!" so we kept it on. I guess this couple had previously been engaged and now weren't. And this girl was annoying and bitchy and the guy was a total doof. And his initial proposal to her was "hey, there's something under your chair". He didn't ask her to marry him or anything he just put a ring box under her chair. I cracked up about that, it was so funny the way she told the story.

It was my conclusion that the proposal is not the biggest deal in the world. But usually both people have some idea that it's coming. And there is usually an attempt to be at the most loving and sweet, not necessarily original or creative but definitely words are exchanged to the tune of "I love you" or "I want to share my life with you" or whatever comes out after enough champagne to kill the nervousness. That would be my understanding of the whole concept.

When Professor K told me his proposal story I was like "SEE! You weren't meant to be together because your whole setup sucked and ended up being sad instead of sweet." He agreed.

I saw my first ever episode of the OC on Thursday because they were playing the two minute trailer to the final Star Wars movie. I made a bet with the Professor that they would play the trailer in the absolute last commercial before the show ended. Then I took a nap through the first half of the show. When I woke up and sat through the last half I couldn't help but think: the OC is an absolute pile of crap. What the hell was going on anyway? It was just too craptacular for words.

The Star Wars trailer played, as expected, at the very end of the show. But it was actually pretty exciting and I'm looking forward to seeing the movie when it comes out. Professor K was utterly geekified by the trailer, eyes shining, and I just know he was doing the "gshh gshh" imaginary light saber thing in his head. Well, probably not really but I liked picturing it. I don't think he's that big a dork. But I certainly enjoy teasing him - it makes him tickle me.

I'm writing way too much about nothing. I'll stop now.

10:49 a.m. - 2005-03-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones