Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's my anniversary

This may or may not be interesting. Today is my one year anniversary at my place of employment. Well, kinda.

I was hired and started work here as a subcontractor on December 22, 2003. But I was paid by my placement agency and had no benefits. I looked for other jobs and found one that I was willing to leave for at another company and went to my boss to tell her I was resigning. She yelped and immediately began the process of hiring me.

Getting hired here with full benefits and an increased salary was a nice little surprise. I never expected to stay here as long as I have but I enjoy the job a lot more than I hate it and that means a lot to me.

My hiring here was based on a term assignment - I was guaranteed employment for one year. At the end of that year I would either be let go or hired permanently. This came as no surprise to me but I was extended an offer of permanent employment with a merit increase. So yay!

My boss told me that if the higher ups had rejected her request to hire me for real she would have walked out of here with me. Whether she meant it or not that was nice to hear.

And so happy anniversary to me! Also, happy merit increase! Actually I still don't know what my increase is but I know what my boss requested so hopefully they are one and the same.

In honor of my one year anniversary I lost my ID badge for the first time. I removed my necklacey thing last night and the white card wasn't hanging from it. It's probably somewhere between my street and my front door, buried under a few inches of snow. I didn't bother to stress out about it but when I came in this morning to replace it I was treated like a national security threat.

I had to fill out a document of sorts that actually asked me the question "What have you done to try and locate your badge?" Like, uh, what? I wrote "looked for it." Which isn't even really true but whatever. I won't get a new one for two weeks. In the meantime I sport a tres chic "Temporary" clipped to my blazer.

Professor K had his first in person interview today that seemed to go well. He has another on Monday. Things are rolling along. Also he has asked for and received monetary assistance from his parents and I am pleased. That is one less thing I have to wonder about.

He tends to not tell me things if he thinks they will upset me and therefore we have not really discussed money unless I've brought it up. I find his lack of full disclosure frustrating but oh well.

Today it is, in fact, Friday. I couldn't be happier about that...now I just need these last two hours to zip by. This weekend another anniversary! Sunday is my one-year Diaryland anniversary. I can hardly believe it...it seems like just yesterday I was wondering why the hell someone would keep their private thoughts in a public journal. Now I guess I still don't know but I'm hooked.

2:37 p.m. - 2005-02-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones