Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Smoke and Mint

Today is off to a hell of a start. I sleep in a tiny bit later these days since I'm the only one getting up in the morning. So this morning I finally dragged myself out of bed a little before seven, consoling myself by thinking "at least today is Friday." Oh but WAIT! It ISN'T Friday. It's only Thursday. Oh well.

I made it into work easily and early - is it school vacation week or something? The roads are practically empty at points where there is usually traffic. I like it, stay on vacation kids!

When I went to get my morning omelet and coffee I had a mishap. I put my giant cup under the cream first and that worked out okay. Then I selected "breakfast blend" for my morning caffeine jolt. I stuck my cup under that faucet thingy and just....zoned out or something. Because the next thing I knew there was scalding hot coffee all over my hand and the counter. I was embarrassed and apologized to the cafeteria lady and offered to clean it up. She told me not to worry about it and took care of it. She said it was nice when other people made her feel smart. Cause, yeah, I'm dumb.

Now I swear I have second degree burns. But the coffee is good.

I get that people smoke. Like addicted people who smoke several cigarettes all day, that's cool. But it's weird how the old lady smokers I know who work with me chew gum incessently or suck on mints like it covers up the smell. All it does is create a smokey mint smell. And that smell reminds me so much of my grandmother.

When I was little she was a secret smoker. We all knew she smoked but she would never admit it. She and my grandfather would come to stay at our house and she would sporadically disappear into the upstairs guest bathroom. If you were to venture upstairs during one of her disappearing acts you would smell cigarettes and perfume. Kissing her goodbye was like taking a little puff off a Marlboro.

She finally quit smoking about ten or fifteen years ago after a heart scare. Unfortunately right before I became interested in smoking myself and could have taken advantage of her hidden pack (top drawer of her bureau) to steal a few every time we visited.

Which leads me to my point, which is that if you smoke regularly everyone around you is fully aware of it. Seriously.

Professor K has two phone interviews today and an in-person interview tomorrow. Yay! Hopefully things will go well. Cross your fingers!

9:27 a.m. - 2005-02-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones