Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Bowl

The Superbowl

I have some thoughts about yesterday's game and I would like very much to share them. So here we go.

What the fuck was up with the blind kids? And the ugliness of said blind kids? And also, if blind people were "watching" the game they couldn't even appreciate the signing of the blind kids. They should have been yelling instead. I mean, Ray Charles was blind not deaf, right? And signing is for deaf people? Ugh. Sickening. Luckily I was half in the bag by then and just laughed and pointed at the ugliest ones. And laughed.

Seriously, it's Fox's fault for attempting to mix sincerity with football.

The first half was just...I don't know. That first PLAY was like "YEAH!" We scared the living shit out of McNabb. You could see how nervous the Eagles were just walking out onto the field. But then those two amazing turnovers were taken away from us and that just sucked. I drank to soothe my nerves. And when the Eagles scored first I drank some more. I never doubted that we would win. Seriously. Not with Bruschi and Harrison and fucking Branch.

We took shots of Tequila at the first Pats TD, which is a tradition. We took more shots at the second TD and I'm not sure why since that's NOT a tradition. But whatever works. The Pats weren't doing so well on HDTV and so we switched to regular screen TV and turned off the Fox announcers (Nazis) and put on the radio so we could feel the local love. Much better. Immediately the Pats started playing better. I think my newly painted red fingernails had a lot to do with that as well. Pats nails!

The win felt as good as I thought it would. I thought my voice might be dead today with all the screaming but I'm alright. We SCREAMED and jumped around and hugged and popped a bottle of champagne and jumped around some more. I took many funny pictures of screaming and hugging and us holding up three fingers. And then many drunken shots of the top half of my head. We watched lots of post-game celebrating and then I passed out on the couch. Yay!

I should be dead today. I should be hungover beyond all comprehension. Instead I just feel silly and drunk. And I find that hilarious.

Dear Paul McCartney: Go away.

Also, what's with all the hype about the new commercials? All these ladies I work with are coming up to me and squawking about "the kitty! the monkey! the car!" and I'm thinking that those commercials all looked like normal commercials to me. I watched them on mute while discussing the game. I remember being annoyed by a dead guy in a car that my mother claimed was Christopher Reeve. Like, the actual dead Christopher Reeve or a plastic replica? She wasn't sure.

Regardless of the details, CONGRATULATIONS PATRIOTS!!!!!!!!!! Another W. Another World Championship. Another parade. Life is good.

But now there is no more football to watch.

One more thing: world champions. Are we really WORLD champions? Cause I don't remember playing Japan. Or Brazil. But I'd bet we could beat them if we did.

11:56 a.m. - 2005-02-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones