Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The men in my life

More confirmation that people are, in fact, stupid.

Without getting into too much detail... we are discontinuing a rather unpopular pre-tax contribution program. We have a MUCH BETTER one that has been in place for a few years and now, TADA!, we have decided to get rid of the one that nearly no one participates in. Brilliant, no?

The program effectively ends on 1 January 2005 and the first letter informing participants of this went out in August. There has been continued advertisement and every employee who has asked about the program has been informed of its impending demise. But today we decided that just for the heck of it we'd post a notice in the bulletin - sort of an online newspaper for upcoming events and news. A reminder, that's all. And idiots are coming out of the woodwork to call me and bitch.

Me: Hello?
Idiot: I JUST READ THE BULLETIN!!! ABOUT THE...UHHHHHH....THE.....UHHHH....you know, the fund thing.
Me: Yes, the ________ program.
Idiot: Okay you just lost me.
Me: You're calling about the ______ program, also known as the ________ ?
Idiot: Well, whatever it's called, I don't understand! Why weren't we informed?
Me: A letter went out to all the participants in August explaining the situation and the reasoning behind the decision.
Idiot: Well I never GOT IT!!
Me: Oh I'm sorry sir. A list was compiled of all the current participants and I understood that it was quite thorough.
Idiot: Well I haven't been contributing for the last four years but I was PLANNING to start again in two months. And now you're telling me that I CAN'T????!!!!
Me: So you're not a current participant?
Idiot: NO! But I want a copy of that letter!!!!
Me: Okay sir, I'll see what I can do.
Idiot: *click*

________________________________________

I was getting ready for work this morning and thinking about sex. I remembered how over the summer I was going slightly insane thanks to my evil b.c. pills that cracked me out and made me psycho.

My mother's advice to me at that time struck me as odd and I had forgotten all about it. She told me to go off the pill altogether and try the rhythm method. Her basis for why this was a good idea was that when she and my dad were first together and became sexually active, all they used for the first two years was the rhythm method.

Needless to say I did NOT take her advice but I was struck by how freaking lucky my parents were not to end up with a squalling brat when they were 18 and 20. The rhythm method? Isn't that how Catholic families end up with thirteen kids?

Anywho, my folks are coming over tonight for a birthday celebration - my dad turned 57 yesterday. Yay! I called him last night and we talked for about half an hour and it was nice to talk to him but also made me a little sad. He said to me "I feel like I haven't talked to you in forever" and I realized that he really hasn't. When I didn't have a washer or dryer I used to come by at least every two weeks, often once a week. Now I see them only for dinners and special occasions and Professor K is there so my attention is divided between having fun with my folks and making sure the Professor is feeling comfortable and having fun.

I was over their house a few months ago for dinner and it was the most surreal experience because I felt like I was at a tennis match. We had a ton of wine and Dad was sitting on my left and the Professor on my right and I felt like they were in a competition for my attention. So my head went back and forth, back and forth, back and forth. And I felt guilty as hell - about my dad because I wasn't 100% with him like I usually am, and for Professor K because I didn't want him to feel left out or like I preferred my father's conversation.

Ugh. I should probably not give a shit but I couldn't help myself. My dad is one of my closest friends and the Professor is my boyfriend. And they are totally different types of people. My father dominates and jokes and opines about everything and Professor K listens and tries to please and is super nice and sincere.

I have no idea what they actually think about each other but both are smart enough to know not to shit all over the other one - my dad has been guarded when he talks about Professor K, and Professor K says things like "I really like your dad!" which sounds like something he's just saying to make me happy.

Tonight it will be better because it's a more even playing field - Professor K has home-field advantage and that will put my dad in a more polite frame of mind, and it's my father's birthday so I can fawn all over him without feeling guilty. I'm looking forward to it!

But last night I told my dad that he and I should start meeting for lunch during th week. I don't want to sacrifice the awesome relationship that we have. He agreed enthusiastically and now we are going to start scheduling our "dates" once Thanksgiving is over.

I need coffee. Yummy coffee!

8:27 a.m. - 2004-11-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones