Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Food Entry

I made the yummiest dinner last night and it was appropriately filling and did not result in all-night-long stomach aches (resulting in pregnancy dreams).

I stopped at the grocery store on my way home from work - one of my least favorite things to do - and bought chicken breasts (bone still in for increased tenderness), broccoli, acorn squash, and baked potatoes. And a bottle of champagne. I love champagne!

I didn't end up making the squash, I'm saving that for tonight, but the potatoes I cooked for over an hour so they were really soft and fluffy. The chicken breasts were marinated for over an hour so that they were juicy and flavorful. And the broccoli was steamed and then a tiny bit of spicy cheese was added to it - have you had the Cabot Hot Habanero pepper cheese? Best cheese EVER. Anyway, when the food was done there was some serious chomping, otherwise silence.

I love cooking, really. It's like my new favorite thing. I like thinking about what would taste good and then coming up with side dishes, and working out the timing of the whole thing so everything is done at the same time. And the eating part rocks too.

Work was really long yesterday and today I am resolved to take a lunch. It is also my father's birthday and since I am having him over tomorrow night for cocktails and dinner I should probably buy him a gift of some sort. So that's my excuse for getting the fizzuck out of here for an hour. I haven't taken a lunch all week and it's starting to get to me.

Another thing I bought last night was grapes, the green ones. I love grapes but I'm not sure I've ever actually bought them. I'm eating them now and they are so yummy!

Bailey was utterly delectable this morning. All firm and round, in full-on Easter ham mode. She was very bouncy and restless this morning - I've been going to bed over an hour early every night this week and that means she wakes up an hour earlier than usual.

I don't know why she can't just stay up with Professor K but she insists upon coming to bed when I do. Anyway, I had a few extra minutes this morning and Professor K and I made a Bailey sandwich and kissed her and promised her that Saturday was coming soon. I love the Professor's "Bailey" voice - he likes to interpret what she might be thinking and it tickles me - I do the exact same thing.

I'm looking forward to next week and the holiday - Bailey is always fawned all over by my family, seeing as she is the only "grandchild". When my brother and his wife have kids her life is going to change for the worse.

I have the remaining chicken breast in my bag and it's all I can do not to eat it now. Today is also the cafeteria's Thanksgiving Feast day so if I just eat my chicken at lunch time I will be missing out. But then again, do I really need turkey and mashed potatoes and stuffing and gravy TWICE in two weeks? I think the answer is yes.

9:51 a.m. - 2004-11-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones