Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Game 1

Well, last night was game one of the ALCS.

I won�t lie, I can�t handle tension so I spent the evening hiding in the bedroom watching Law & Order reruns and occasionally flipping over to Fox to check out the damage.

When the game first started Professor K and I were lying in a pile on the couch. He switched over from TBS to Fox and suddenly my better half was in geek heaven � the opening of the game showing clips of the Yankees and Red Sox and STAR WARS! I didn�t get the connection but when I looked up at my adorable geek his eyes were starry and there was a tiny fleck of drool on his bottom lip. Oh the excitement!

I looked at him and asked �is it okay if I go away now?� It was okay. I know, I know, I�m a terrible Red Sox fan but after last year my strategy is to NOT watch the games and perhaps that will be the factor that changes history? I don�t know, is there a reasonable way to handle this? I think not.

I switched over several times in the first few innings � I was concerned because I heard nothing from the living room, no yelling or moaning or grunting, none of the normal �watching baseball� noises. I immediately saw why. He was in near-suicidal shock.

He eventually joined me in the bedroom and when I made the mistake of switching over to Fox so I could see how things were going he said �NO! They just put in Timlin. NO! Change it! CHANGE IT! BEFORE HE�� And the channel changed and we did not witness a single Timlin pitch. Thank God.

So we lost Game 1 but if you�re a fatalistic psycho then your argument should be that this is a GOOD thing. Why? Because the Yankees lost the first game of the series last year, therefore if WE lost the first game this year then the curse must be reversed. Musn�t it? Yup.

Cross your fingers.

I heard the saddest thing yesterday at work. There�s a woman that works across the hall from me that I honestly don�t like very much. I won�t go into why right now because it�s totally inappropriate.

She�s 40 and her husband is 44 and they have two school-age daughters. Yesterday her husband woke up and he said he wasn�t feeling well. Then he began having seizures. Ultimately he had to be airlifted to Beth Israel hospital. He had an aneurism in his brain and is currently in a coma and it �doesn�t look good� according to the most recent updates.

When I heard the story my eyes welled up with tears, it was just the saddest story and such unfortunate luck or fate or whatever it was that made that happen. For what it�s worth it made me go home last night and feel extra special blessed. How sad to go to sleep one night lying close to your loved one and the next night be sleeping upright in a hospital chair awaiting terrible news. It�s just tragic.

Well that was an uplifting entry.

* One more note: with a baseball cap on my honey looks just like Mike Mussina from the nose up. HE DOES! Sure his has a big B on it and Mike's wears the sign of the devil but the eyes are the same. And Mike used to be an Oriole so I'll always love him for his innocent days. And he can pitch like I can lay around and watch TV - nearly perfectly. Yeah, so anyway, Professor K is hot.

11:46 a.m. - 2004-10-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones