Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

eh, call it whatever you want

Wednesday.

My car is at the tire place now being caressed lovingly and given new shoes. I wonder if they'll see my rock damage and say "OH MY GOD! WHAT HAPPENED! YOU SHOULDN"T BE DRIVING THIS DEATH TRAP!!" Because, you know, that's usually what happens when I take my car in for any work.

I had to get up extra special early to get there and take their "shuttle" (one heavy smoker with an Elmer Fudd speech impediment named Bill) to work.

It was actually a very pleasant experience - they took my keys, told me they had my same tires in stock, and I hopped in the shuttle and made small chat with that wascally wabbit for the ten minute ride to work.

When the car guy saw my tires he said "OH GEEZ!" Haha. It always gives me pride to strike fear in the hearts of car guys.

I'm talking about this story all out of order but oh well. Waking up this morning it was COLD in the bedroom. We had the window cracked yesterday after work because when I got home the bedroom was freezing. Then I decided to open it wider so it would be nice and cold while we slept.

Professor K wore his winter hat to bed which is his latest affectation. I think it's cute - his hat looks really good on him. Waking up I was thinking "is it really as cold as I think it is in here?" I stood up and the hardwood floor was like a block of ice, my warm-up pants were crispy with cold. I put on a huge hooded sweatshirt and my pants over my pajama pants and took Bailey for an extremely brisk walk (read: drag) around the block. And boy do I wish I had had gloves and a scarf for the walk. But it was invigorating so that when I got back home I didn't immediately hop back in bed.

This is stupid but I'm always really proud of myself for getting a number of important responsibilities taken care of in the same week. Usually I'm only good for about one important thing a week but lately I've been cramming additional To Do's into my week. It's not that it's fun stuff but it makes me feel like I've earned my laying around time.

I wish I had more money, for the umpteenth time this week. I'm fine for normal everyday stuff - usually we can afford to go out to dinner, buy wine and food and candy whenever we want it. But this past month has been disastrous. Today I had a negative balance in my checking account and had to transfer funds from my savings account. And now I have a $300 bill waiting for me at the tire place - I plan to put that on my credit card. I hate doing that since I'd rather just eat the cost than pay it off for the next ten years but I don't have the necessary back up funds to make that happen. It's really frustrating sometimes.

Luckily I'm not the type of person to freak out about this stuff. I was walking to get a coffee earlier and I just thought to myself "It's okay. You have some expenses, it will be over soon and you can start saving money again". And it made me feel a lot better. I hate worrying.

Is it Friday yet? No? Okay.
Now? Is it Friday NOW?

11:53 a.m. - 2004-10-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones