Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fall

I called my friend last night to wish her a happy birthday. I knew all day long that I should call her but I waited until after 10pm to do it.

She was tired when we finally talked and I was happy. I didn't really have too much to say. She has this way of being...what's the right way to describe it?

It's like she tries to act like she's more experienced at the things that I am doing in my everyday life. Like the moving in together thing - she said to me, in her typical fashion, "I NEVER thought you would move in with someone". And I paused and thought "huh?" cause I lived with my ex for two years.

And then she managed to be patronizing about the fact that Professor K and I have lived together for a shorter time than she and her boyfriend, like it's some kind of domestic competition. She tried to make the conversation all married-couple and boring, like "WE are up to this, what are YOU GUYS up to?" Like the two of us as individuals no longer exist because we are in relationships.

Argh, frustrating. I can't explain it, it's just so uncomfortable. I hate talking to people who are trying so hard to sound a certain way. She talks about money, work, her relationship, cleaning, planning for the future. Why do people get like that? What happened to RIGHT NOW?

I was walking Bailey the other night and thinking about that. I had walked by a house with a ton of potted plants hanging from the deck and I thought "one day I want to garden like that". And it occurred to me that if I were to die tomorrow, or next week, I would never get that opportunity. It didn't make me want to run right out and buy seeds but it did make me think that there's a huge difference between "someday" and doing something right now.

While I was walking around enjoying the new crisp chill in the air I started thinking about my right now, versus previous ones. Where was I walking Bailey a year ago, two years ago, and then three years ago when I wasn't walking anyone but myself.

It's funny how quickly life changes and the changes become normal and the old ways seem foreign and unreal. My conclusion was that I am very happy and very content right now and to me that's everything. I enjoy the highs and the lows but I can more and more appreciate the mediums. I am currently medium to high, on varying degrees on varying days, and it's good.

The holidays are approaching and that tickles me to no end. I am so ready for the rest of this year! I want to holiday it up like crazy, decorate and bake and cook. And take pictures and dress up my pets in silly outfits, spend time with friends and family, the whole nine yards.

I need to stock up on the new scents at Yankee candle, the fall scents, and get Pumpkin Pie flavored coffee. Pumpkin, the greatest seasonal fruit after bing cherries. And hot apple cider with a cinnamon stick, and my mom's homemade applesauce that I intend to make my own this fall.

Mmmmm...now I just need some corduroy and I'm all set. I know I'm being cheesy right now. But tis the season! And this cold air is great! The sky is so blue and clear and what looks better than freshly pinkened cheeks after a walk? And crispy leaves under foot - where did they all come from?

Pats on Sunday - I can't wait!!

1:32 p.m. - 2004-10-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones