Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Marishnikov

Mary has been back from her cruise for five days now. And all day yesterday and all day today we've heard her moaning "I'm so diiizzzzy". And just loud enough for everyone to hear she'll groan "oh god" or "uhhhh" anytime she gets up or sits down. Or walks.

Apparently she is convinced that she still hasn't recovered her "land legs".

She is stricken with some kind of land sickness that doesn't allow her to feel comfortable at work. After fifty six years on this earth it took just one week on a cruise ship and she has now lost the ability to walk on land without persistent dizziness and aching joints.

Or maybe...just maybe...she's an old hog who can't get attention any other way so everything becomes about her failing health. I mean, it could go either way, right?

She has not lost her ability to eat donuts, thank God. And her particular style of eating donuts is really more interactive than most people's. It's like she's serenading you with every moist, squishy morsel in her mouth. A gift of song right here at work! *Smack* *Smack* "COUGH COUGH COUGH* *Smack* *Smack* *Gargle* *HACK* *COUGH COUGH* *Smack*

She can really make her herpes sores dance when she's eating her donuts! Oh I cannot express the glee that I feel when I see that she has stopped at D&D in the morning. I know we're both in for a treat.

Speaking of D&D, I got my first Dunkachino of the fall season today. I know they serve them year round but who wants a yummy coffee/hot chocolate drink in August? It's such a thick syrupy drink of sweet hot goodness. And it reminds me of my last two winters here. Probably because I never had a Dunkachino before 2002.

I'm dreadfully tired this morning. Dry eyed drooling on myself tired. Bed was so bedalicious this morning - the soft, clean sheets that still smell like the dryer, the snuggly comforter, the fluffy pillows. And we left the window open last night so we had a nice crisp breeze all night. Mmmm...heavenly.

For some reason I got up without too much hesitation and took Bailey out into the cold cold morning. She did her thing and turned around and headed for home rather than continuing on our regular walk. Okay, fine with me. I hopped back into bed after giving her a biscuit and got snuggly for five more minutes. I would love to do that now...being vertical feels like far too much work. Maybe tonight will be a bed night. I sometimes have nights where I come home from work and camp out in the bedroom - watching TV in there, eating, and usually passing out at an early hour. I get up to take Bailey for walks and to use the bathroom but otherwise I spend the night laying in bed. Ah yes, laziness at its best.

Did I mention that I'm tired?
Dunkachino all gone now. NOOOOOOO!! Now I may have to switch over to yucky work coffee. Or risk falling asleep at my desk...

9:21 a.m. - 2004-09-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones