Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Professor's Birthday

I really want to get home early on Friday so I can set up for Professor K's birthday.

My fear is that I'll put up decorations and have a cake and everything and then it will seem all lame because it will be just the two of us. But hopefully we can go right into present opening or something like that, to make it fun.

Did I mention that I love birthdays? LOVE them. I know I made a huge deal when mine rolled around but I love making a huge deal about other people's birthdays too. It's only when I don't want to look like a big dork that I ignore a birthday.

Nothing makes me feel stupider quicker than going all out for someone and having them be like "uhh....thanks" and then eyeing me suspiciously and/or warily, like they had no idea that you were good enough friends to warrant such a reaction to their birthday.

This has happened to me, obviously. So I usually only go crazy for old friends, family, and significant others.

I tried to really plan ahead for my ex's 21st and got an ice cream cake (her favorite) a few days in advance and hid it in the freezer. The evening of her birthday she was in the living room spilling Corona as she rolled around on the floor, so I dragged her friend into the kitchen and we lit candles. He said how nice it was that I went out of my way like that and we carried the cake in singing Happy Birthday.

And she looked at me like I was crazy.

I got my feelings really hurt by that. I know she was drunk but it seemed so mean. I had no money but had scraped together the $20 for the cake, in addition to buying her shitloads of drinks and actually driving her around all day. Also having the cake in advance took planning, as well as almost a mile walk each way to the Carvel store in the hot, humid Louisiana summer weather. The cake survived the temps but I almost died. And dammit all I wanted was for her to grin like a little kid and eat a huge piece. That's it, not a production or anything. So wah wah wah, I'm whining about it now.

I have a feeling Professor K will really appreciate all the lame traditional birthday crap that I plan to do for him.

12:04 p.m. - 2004-09-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones