Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

good morning you bastard

My neck is a little broken on one side. Not TOO broken, just a little. I must have slept on all eleventeen of my pillows last night, all in a little stack.

Actually it's probably cause I fell asleep with my head on Bailey's ass. I don't know why I do that sometimes but it feels comfy as I'm drifting off.

But the real point is that today is Friday and it's a three day weekend! Not that I didn't just take four days off for my "vacation" (fuckers, how is it a vacation when you're struggling and sweating and aching?)

But when I get back from vacation it's usually harder for me to go to work, not easier. You'd think I'd jump out of bed all chipper and "woohoo!" but instead, after the first day or so, I want to call in sick. So three days off is going to rawk!

Waking up this morning was a lengthy process. We locked Mr. Kitty out of the bedroom last night because he can be an absolute terror in the morning right before the alarm is supposed to go off. But he has figured out how to jimmy the door open with his paw so we have to pile shit in front of it so he can't break in suddenly.

Last night it was a toolbox and a trash can, in case you're wondering. This morning, when it was still pretty dark out, we hear jiggle jiggle jiggle at the door. Even Bailey doesn't react anymore, she knows it's her stupid brother trying to break in.

Unfortunately Professor K had to pee and he got up and when he came back he did not securely replace the toolbox, only the trashcan. So then we hear jiggle jiggle jiggle CREAK and the bastard was in! We lay there in anticipation of a strike and soon enough the Professor jumped up abruptly and clutched his ankle. Then he lay back down.

Then I was hit with tiny claws and jumped up, grabbed the cat, and placed him back outside and put the toolbox back. Bailey was the only one not hit and that was because she had created an anti-kitty bunker between Professor K's back and my head.

So the cat continues his jiggle jiggle but soon gives up once he realizes the toolbox of doom is back. Professor K and I giggle - why is it so satisfying to defeat a five-month old kitten? - and we go back to sleep.

Ten minutes later the alarm goes off. The Professor gets up first so I get snooze time. Bailey and I snuggle in close and take up more room since there's a missing body. But oh CRAP! Now that someone left the toolbox is no longer there. And kitty is jiggling again, and quickly breaks in. Bailey picks her head up to look at the slowly opening door with horror. I get up, grab the cat who has yet to strike, and place him back outside. Brilliantly Professor K has placed one of the cat's tower/scratching post toys against the door as a blocker - basically attracting the stupid kitten to the door. So I move that away, put him on it, shut the door, put back the toolbox, and crawl back in and fall asleep.

Ten minutes later the phone rings. Loudly. I get up and go to answer it since I'm the only human being that's not in the shower but just as I get to the phone, on the third or fourth ring, it stops.

I get back into bed, snuggle up with Bailey, and go back to sleep. But goddammit, now I forgot to put the toolbox back...

So yeah, it was a long waking up process. And despite all of the signs that I should get up early I still got up late. It was fine - ever since we gained a grassy front yard Bailey does her thing really quickly. And oh, can I just say that I am loving this sudden cold front? It is so yummy to wake up in the morning and throw on a sweatshirt and go shiver in the gray morning with Bailey. I love the cold - it is so conducive to a snuggly cuddle session with boyfriend and pets. I'll have to pause and have a moment of silence for my fireplace

*pause*

but fuck it, everything else is way better so who needs a fireplace?

Anyway, it's Friday. And today is a throw away day as far as I'm concerned. I did everything yesterday that I really needed to and Friday's are notoriously slow around here so I'll probably just write diary entries and go water my Mom's plants at some point. And read diaries - always a fun thing to keep me busy.

Three day weekend!!

8:54 a.m. - 2004-09-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones