Long Story Short

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Our New Home

Hooboy. Still haven't had a sit down with the boss but I've decided to move on. Mentally at least, I can hardly get up and just wander out of the building.

Anyway, to sum it up the move was a very rewarding experience. I went over to my sad, empty old apartment yesterday to drop off the key (and have a beer and write a journal entry) and it felt so good to be saying goodbye. I was sad, don't get me wrong, but it was just me and my Bailey in an otherwise scorching attic, and that reminded me of the way I felt when I moved into that place two years ago. So excited to be living on my own, without a significant other or roommate.

I remember being scared the first couple of nights I stayed there alone, and having pangs of homesickness for my parents' air conditioned big house. And I Hated (with a capital H) leaving Bailey alone while I went to work. Today it is someone else's new place. I hope they have fun there.

My new place is great! Our new place, sorry. The front porch is yummy. Very fun for sitting and swinging your legs. I've spent many a relaxing hour out there already - I'm going to miss sitting out there when the winter comes. But fall is going to beautiful! We have two trees to look at and some really nice yards across the street to help us mark the changing seasons.

The inside is so big, I'm not used to it yet. Your average house-dweller will probably find it small but I know for sure my brother, who lives in Manhattan, will be overwhelmed by the amount of space.

Okay so the first day of my vacation: I was allowed to leave early on Thursday to get over to the new place and join Professor K in the rush to get as much crap over there as we could. We managed to do a pretty decent amount, getting the couch and a TV and DVD player, some clothes and toiletries. Then we relaxed, had a few drinks, and enjoyed our new space. Mostly the deck and front yard.

Liam, the new landlord, and his family were away that weekend so it was like having the whole house to ourselves. We brought over a futon of the Professor's so we could sleep there and not have to spend yet another night sweltering in the old place. It wasn't super comfortable but it felt so good to be in our new house. We got to have sex in it for the first time but it was really more "we should probably have sex" than a real passionate type of situation.

One small problem was a recent incident between myself, a few cocktails, and a small pair of scissors that I was using to trim up my situation downstairs. I snipped a little too close and well....let's just say...ow. We took good care of the cut but the next day it was still sore and made for some interesting and random yelps on my part. Anyway, sex was had, sleep was attained, and we spent our first night in the new house.

We painted our bedroom "tropical sand" which looked like a light latte color on the sample. It turned out light pink. Hmm....but we like it, it's very relaxing and the walls came out great! No strange spots to stare at or brush strokes. We killed ourselves all Friday morning with the first coat. The second coat was easier and went faster but by the end we were both delirious from paint fumes. And Bailey had been walking around on the tarp and managed to track paint through the living room and onto the couch. It wasn't really a big deal but it was funny when I looked at her little hooves ("actually they're FEET!") and they had paint on them. She got a blotch of paint on her head too but it picked off easily. She just wouldn't stay far enough back to avoid dripping paint on her. It was fun, though, and cute.

Moving in was hot hot hot! We were dripping wet all day long, all four of us. Being at the old apartment was the worst by far. Carrying the stuff down three flights of stares and into either Professor K's truck or my father's SUV was awful. It was like being on the stairmaster non-stop in hideous heat and humidity. By the end of the afternoon we were literally crawling back up the stairs with squinty death looks on our faces. The best parts of the day were our breaks when we'd finish unloading some furniture/boxes/clothes into the new place and then we'd all sit out on the new porch with cold beers. As soon as we were sitting it felt so much better.

We were laughing and joking and looking pretty horrific - soaking wet dirty hair, matted shirts with HUGE wet stains, dirt and dust all over us. But after a day of working almost twelve hours straight we stopped, everyone took a shower, and then Professor K and I picked up Italian food and beer for us all. We sat in my new living room and ate and laughed and joked about how much fluid we had all lost. When my parents left that night I threw myself into bed. I was too tired to even have a conversation.

Saturday was our day off. We did basically nothing except lay in the yard or sit out on the porch, watch DVD's and try to make the living room cozy and candley. We also installed our new wall unit air conditioner in the bedroom and then spent quite a while sitting in front of it. Oh the joys of AC!! I cannot tell you how exciting it was. We shut the door and watched Starsky and Hutch (a surprisingly funny movie) and every half hour or so we would go check to see how cold the bedroom had gotten. By the time we went to sleep it was nearing Arctic. Unfortunately Mr. Kitty learned how to unplug it so we have to basically tape the plug in or risk waking up hot. But hey, it could be a lot worse right? Hee, that's a joke.

Anyway, Sunday was another hell day. More lifting and sweating and grunting and complaining. But the big stuff got finished and the day was a bit shorter. Monday was cleaning the old place and Tuesday was unpacking in the new place. I turned in my keys, as I said, and said my last goodbye to my old attic. I want to drive by after work and see how the move in is going. I'm sure the new girl is excited.

So I'm back at work and it's just about the last place I want to be. But it is nice to have escaped the drudgery of housework and boxes and the landlord knocking at random times. Our washer and dryer ought to be hooked up by the end of today and I intend to do load after load of laundry. I love doing laundry!

Tonight is also "date night" aka poker night, so we're going to ring in our first quiet, smoke-free Wednesday out on the deck. Because in the past we had to either hole up inside or escape altogether to avoid poker night. Tonight we can move about freely! Ah, how sweet.

So yeah, the new place is great! Stop on by if you're in the area. We haven't had non-family company yet and could really use some.

11:43 a.m. - 2004-09-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bettyford
littlelizzi
singlegirl
yelayna
yeahimadork
bathtubmary
whystinger
wicked-sezzy
d1mndn3r0ugh
goldieknox03
alicefalls
dukkha-tanha
toejam
kelsi
rachelliz
kristintracy
robotheart
rdhdprincess
unclebob
justjones